BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Bicycle History Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2017 Ronde van Drenthe (1.1), Netherlands

Formerly "Albert Achterhes Profonde van Drenthe" and "Dwars door Drenthe"

55th edition: Saturday, March 11, 2017

Ronde van Drenthe podium history | 2016 edition | 2018 edition

Hoogeveen - Hoogeveen, 206.2 km

Jan-Willem van Schip

Jan-Willem van Schip wins the 2017 Ronde van Drenthe

The Race: LottoNL-Jumbo sent me this report.

Twan Castelijns finished second in a two-up sprint with Jan-Willem van Schip in the Tour of Drenthe today in Hoogeveen. LottoNL-Jumbo’s Amund Grøndahl Jansen and Steven Lammertink placed 13th and 14th.

Castelijns and Van Schip formed part of the early breakaway, which originally consisted three men. Julius van den Berg dropped out with ten kilometres to go. The race was hard due toseveral climbs of the VAM-berg and some cobbled sections. Eventually, the two escapees raced into town, where, Van Schip won the sprint.

Castelijns thought he would take home the victory, but just before the line, he was overtaken by Van Schip.

“It was a perfect move for Twan to go in because that way the pressure of the race was not on our shoulders,” said Sports Director Grischa Niermann. 

“We were very attentive, but unfortunately, we were not in a group of six that rode off after the last VAM-berg. Lindeman had to change bikes just before the last climb. He was perhaps the strongest man in the race.''

At four kilometers from the end, Niermann saw that Castelijns could sprint for victory.

“We were still represented by five men in the group and the other teams were slowly exhausting. So it is a pity that Twan was barely beaten, but Van Schip is also a strong rider. It's nice for Twan to have ridden in that winning position and hopefully he turns this disappointment into something positive in the coming races.’’

Complete Results:

206.2 kilometers raced at an average speed of 42.822 km/hr

1 Jan-Willem van Schip Delta Cycling 4hr 48min 55sec
2 Twan Castelijns LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
3 Jasper De Buyst Lotto-Soudal @ 11sec
4 Adam Blythe Aqua Blue s.t.
5 Elmar Reinders Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
6 Danilo Napolitano Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
7 Chris Opie BIKE Channel Canyon s.t.
8 Twan Brusselman Destil-Jo Piels s.t.
9 Maxime Farazijn Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
10 František Sisr CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
11 Joey van Rhee Destil-Jo Piels s.t.
12 Jesper Asselman Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
13 Amund Grøndahl LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
14 Steven Lammertink LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
15 Franck Bonnamour Fortuneo Vital Concept s.t.
16 Lasse Hansen Aqua Blue s.t.
17 August Jensen Coop s.t.
18 Marcel Sieberg Lotto-Soudal s.t.
19 Pierpaolo De Negri Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
20 Fabio Jakobsen SEG Racing s.t.
21 Preben Van Hecke Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
22 Adrian Kurek CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
23 Stijn Devolder Veranda's Willems-Crelan s.t.
24 Taco van der Hoorn Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
25 Antwan Tolhoek LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
26 Pim Ligthart Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij +17''
27 Floris De Tier LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
28 Nicola Bagioli Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
29 Wesley Kreder Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
30 Armindo Fonseca Fortuneo Vital Concept s.t.
31 Benoît Jarrier Fortuneo Vital Concept s.t.
32 Roman Maykin Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
33 Robin Sténuit Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
34 Jonas Aaen Riwal Platform s.t.
35 Luuc Bugter Delta Cycling +20''
36 Riccardo Stacchiotti Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
37 Martijn Keizer LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
38 Patryk Stosz CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
39 Dennis Bakker Delta Cycling s.t.
40 Edward Planckaert Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
41 Aaron Gate Aqua Blue s.t.
42 Coen Vermeltfoort Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
43 Peter Schulting Destil-Jo Piels s.t.
44 Jarno Gmelich Meijling Metec-TKH s.t.
45 Raymond Kreder Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
46 Jarl Salomein Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
47 Berden de Vries Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
48 Dion Smith Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
49 Anthony Delaplace Fortuneo Vital Concept s.t.
50 Dries De Bondt Veranda's Willems-Crelan s.t.
51 Bert-Jan Lindeman LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
52 Krister Hagen Coop +32''
53 Jim Lindenberg Metec-TKH s.t.
54 Gert-Jan Bosman Destil-Jo Piels +40''
55 Andrew Fenn Aqua Blue +52''
56 Mark McNally Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
57 Krists Neilands Israel Cycling Academy +1' 01''
58 Julius van den Berg SEG Racing +1' 30''
59 Kenny Dehaes Wanty-Groupe Gobert +1' 58''
60 James Lowsley Williams BIKE Channel Canyon +2' 07''
61 Nikolai Trussov Gazprom-RusVelo +3' 51''
62 Mihkel Räim Israel Cycling Academy s.t.
63 Ike Groen Delta Cycling s.t.
64 Michal Paluta CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
65 Jonas Koch CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
66 Stephan Bakker Monkey Town s.t.
67 Sjoerd van Ginneken Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij s.t.
68 Tim Kerkhof Destil-Jo Piels s.t.
69 Johim Ariesen Metec-TKH s.t.
70 Erwann Corbel Fortuneo Vital Concept s.t.
71 Jason van Dalen Delta Cycling s.t.
72 Aidis Kruopis Veranda's Willems-Crelan s.t.
73 Andrea Pasqualon Wanty-Groupe Gobert s.t.
74 Guillaume Boivin Israel Cycling Academy s.t.
75 Tijmen Eising Metec-TKH s.t.
76 Nicolas Marini Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
77 Giacomo Berlato Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
78 Sander Armée Lotto-Soudal +7' 27''
79 Harry Tanfield BIKE Channel Canyon +7' 36''
80 Joris Blokker Monkey Town s.t.
81 Patrick Clausen Riwal Platform s.t.
82 Andreas Stokbro Riwal Platform s.t.
83 Tyler Williams Israel Cycling Academy s.t.
84 Timothy Dupont Veranda's Willems-Crelan s.t.
85 Justin Timmermans Baby-Dump s.t.
86 Jonas Rickaert Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
87 Adriaan Janssen SEG Racing s.t.
88 Kamil Malecki CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
89 Mitchell Mulhern Delta Cycling s.t.
90 Stijn Steels Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
91 Frederik Frison Lotto-Soudal s.t.
92 Jasper Hamelink Metec-TKH s.t.
93 Jakub Kaczmarek CCC Sprandi Polkowice s.t.
94 Kris Boeckmans Lotto-Soudal s.t.