BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2013 Giro D'Italia: Stage 3

Results, map, stage profile, summary and photos

The Story of the Giro d'Italia, Volume 1 by Bill and Carol McGann is available as a full-length, unabridged audiobook.

Back to 2013 Giro page | Photos from stage 3

Stage 3, Monday, May 6: Sorrento - Marina di Ascea, 222 km


Stage 3 finish

The Race: The day's break was swept up by the Selle di Catona. On that hill 2012 Giro winner Ryder Hesjedal tested the field with a hard, probing attack but seeing he wasn't getting a big enough gap, let himself be caught. Astana controlled the ascent, keeping things together for Nibali. Pink Jersey Salvatore Puccio was popped as a result of the ascent's high speed.

On the tricky switchback descent Hesjedal went again, catching Valerio Agnoli who had attacked earlier. Luca Paolini bridged and they quickly had 30 seconds. Other contenders closed up to the trio. By this point the peloton was broken into groups of 15-20 riders.

Paolini, a skilled descender, escaped on the descent and carved out a serious gap. Many riders crashed on the descent, including Michele Scarponi. Paolini held his lead and took the stage win and the maglia rosa.


  1. Luca Paolini (Katusha) 5hr 43min 50sec
  2. Cadel Evans (BMC) @ 16sec
  3. Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Sharp) s.t.
  4. Mauro Santambrogio (Vini Fantini) s.t.
  5. Samuel Sanchez (Euskaltel) s.t.
  6. Giampaolo Caruso (Katusha) s.t.
  7. Pieter Weening (Orica-GreenEdge) s.t.
  8. Bradley Wiggins (Sky) s.t.
  9. Benat Intxausti (Movistar) s.t.
  10. Robert Gesink (Blanco) s.t.
  11. Robert Kiserlovski (Radio Shack) s.t.
  12. Thomas Danielson (Garmin-Sharp) s.t.
  13. Ivan Santaromita (BMC) s.t.
  14. Rigoberto Uran (Sky) s.t.
  15. Valerio Agnoli (Astana) s.t.
  16. Yury Trofimov (Katusha) s.t.
  17. Vincenzo Nibali (Astana) s.t.
  18. Sergio Henao (Sky) @ 36sec
  19. Enrico Battaglin (Bardiani-CSF) @ 49sec
  20. Giovanni Visconti (Movistar) @ 50sec
  21. Faio Aru (Astana) s.t.
  22. Steve Morabito (BMC) s.t.
  23. Rafael Valls (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  24. Cayetano Sarmiento (Cannondale) s.t.
  25. Michel Golas (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  26. Jorge Azanza (Euskaltel) s.t.
  27. Carlos Alberto Betancur (Ag2r) s.t.
  28. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ag2r) s.t.
  29. Rafal Majka (Saxo-Tinkoff) s.t.
  30. Steven Kruijswijk (Blanco) s.t.
  31. Franco Pellizotti (Androni Giocattoli) s.t.
  32. Przemyslaw Niemiec (Lampre-Merida) @ 1min 0sec
  33. Michele Scarponi (Lampre-Merida) s.t.
  34. Diego Rosa (Andorni Giocattoli) @ 1min 37sec
  35. Alessandro Proni (Vini Fantini) @ 1min 52sec
  36. Stefano Garzelli (Vini Fantini) s.t.
  37. Fabio Andres Duarte (Colombia) s.t.
  38. Marco Marcato (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  39. Bruno Pires (Saxo-Tinkoff) s.t.
  40. Arnold Jeannesson (FDJ) s.t.
  41. Rory Sutherland (Saxo-Tinkoff) s.t.
  42. Juan Manuel Garate (Blanco) s.t.
  43. Serge Pauwels (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  44. Fabio Felline (Androni Giocattoli) s.t.
  45. Francis de Greef (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  46. Francis Mourey (FDJ) s.t.
  47. Francisco Ventonso (Movistar) s.t.
  48. Peter Stetina (Garmin-Sharp) s.t.
  49. Danilo Wyss (BMC) s.t.
  50. Grega Bole (Vacansoleil) s.t.

GC after Stage 3:

  1. mglia rosaLuca Paolini (Katusha) 9hr 4min 32sec
  2. Bradley Wiggins (Sky) @ 17sec
  3. Rigoberto Uran (Sky) s.t.
  4. Benat Intxausti (Movistar) @ 26sec
  5. Vincenzo Nibali (Astana) @ 31sec
  6. Valerio Agnoli (Astana) s.t.
  7. Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Sharp) @ 34sec
  8. Giampaolo Caruso (Katusha) @ 36sec
  9. Yury Trofimov (Katusha) s.t.
  10. Sergio Henao (Sky) @ 37sec
  11. Mauro Santambrogio (Vini Fantini) @ 39sec
  12. Cadel Evans (BMC) @ 42sec
  13. Thomas Danielson (Garmin-Sharp) s.t.
  14. Pieter Weening (Orica-GreenEdge) @ 45sec
  15. Robert Gesink (Blanco) s.t.
  16. Ivan Santaromita (BMC) @ 54sec
  17. Giovanni Visconti (Movistar) @ 1min 0sec
  18. Robert Kiserlovski (Radio shack) s.t.
  19. Fabio Aru (Astana) @ 1min 5sec
  20. Samuel Sanchez (Euskaltel) @ 1min 18sec
  21. Steven Kruijswijk (Blanco) @ 1min 19sec
  22. Michele Scarponi (Lampre-Merida) @ 1min 23sec
  23. Przemyslaw Niemiec (Lampre-Merida) s.t.
  24. Rafael Valls (Vacansoleil) @ 1min 25sec
  25. Steve Morabito (BMC) @ 1min 28sec
  26. Rafal Majka (Saxo-Tinkoff) @ 1min 34sec
  27. Franco Pellizotti (Androni Giocattoli) @ 1min 37sec
  28. Michal Golas (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) @ 1min 37sec
  29. Carlos Alberto Betancur (Ag2r) @ 1min 41sec
  30. Domenico Pozzovivo (Ag2r) s.t.
  31. Jorge Azanza (Euskaltel) @ 1min 52sec
  32. Angel Vicioso (Katusha) @ 2min 12sec
  33. Stefano Garzelli (Vini Fantini) @ 2min 15sec
  34. Danilo Di Luca (Vini Fantini) s.t.
  35. José Rodolfo Serpa (Lampre-Merida) s.t.
  36. Peter Stetina (Garmin-Sharp) @ 2min 18sec
  37. Juan Manuel Garate (Blanco) @ 2min 21sec
  38. Wilco Kelderman (Blanco) s.t.
  39. Diego Rosa (Androni Giocattoli) @ 2min 24sec
  40. Grega Bole (Vacansoleil) @ 2min 27sec
  41. Damiano Caruso (Cannondale) @ 2min 28sec
  42. Danilo Hondo (Radio Shack) @ 2min 32sec
  43. Manuel Francesco Bongiorno (Bardiani-CSF) @ 2min 34sec
  44. Evgeni Petrov (Saxo-Tinkoff) @ 2min 36sec
  45. Rory Sutherland (Saxo-Tinkoff) s.t.
  46. Tiago Machado (Radio Shack) s.t.
  47. Miguel Angel Rubiano (Androni Giocattoli) @ 2min 39sec
  48. Emanuele Sella (Androni Giocattoli) s.t.
  49. Gianluca Brambilla (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) @ 2min 41sec
  50. Serge Pauwels (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.

Points Competition:

  1. Red Jersey Luca Paolini (Katusha): 29 points
  2. Mark Cavendish (Omega Pharma-Quick Step): 28
  3. Cadel Evans (BMC): 20
  4. Elia Viviani (Cannondale): 20
  5. Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Sharp): 16sec

Climber's Competition:

  1. Blue Jersey Willem Wauters (Vacansoleil): 9 points
  2. Giovanni Visconti (Movistar): 8
  3. Manuele Boaro (Saxo-Tinkoff): 5
  4. Cameron Wurf (Cannondale): 3
  5. Fabio Aru (Astana): 3

Young Rider:

  1. White Jersey Fabio Aru (Astana) 9hr 5min 37sec
  2. Rafal Majka (Saxo-Tinkoff) @ 29sec
  3. Carlos Alberto Betancur (Ag2r) @ 36sec
  4. Wilco Kelderman (Blanco) @ 1min 16sec
  5. Diego Rosa (Androni Giocattoli) @ 1min 19sec

Team Classification:

  1. Katusha: 26hr 30min 20sec
  2. Sky @ 17sec
  3. Astana @ 45sec
  4. BMC @ 1min 8sec
  5. Garmin-Sharp @ 1min 58sec

Stage 3 map

Stage 3 map

Stage 3 profile

Stage 3 profile

Photos from stage 3:

Carmine Castellano

Former Giro director (1993-2003) Carmine Castellano at the start.

Vincenzo Nibali

Vincenzo Nibali before the race's departure

Amalfi road

Today's stage took in the Amalfi Road...

Amalfi Road

one of the most beautiful stretches of highway in the world.

Amalfi road

Heck, here's another photo of the Amalfi Road.

Team Sky

Sky patrolling the race. Leader Salvatore Pucci can be seen in his pink jersey.

Fabio Taborre

Fabio Taborre was off the front a lone for quite a while. He was caught on the final ascent.

Salvatore Puccio

Puccio couldn't take the pace of the final climb and was dropped.

Bradley Wiggins

Bradley Wiggins, on the other hand, never sseemed to be under stress

Luca Paolini

Luca Paolini looking back on the descent. For a while the chasers were only 9-10 seconds behind.

Ryder Hesjedal

Astana kept Ruder Hesjedal (leading) on a short leash.

Michele Scarponi

Michele Scarponi chasing after crashing. He's being led by Przymeslaw Niemiec.

Robert Gesink

Robert Gesink

Stage 3 field sprint

Cadel Evans wins the field sprint.

Luca Paolini

Luca Paolini dons the maglia rosa