BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2012 Giro D'Italia: Stage 9

Back to 2012 Giro page | Stage map and profile | Photos from Stage 9 |

Stage 9, Monday, May 14: San Giorgio nel Sannio - Frosinone, 171 km

Stage 9 finish

The Race: The day's break was caught with about 20 kilometers to go. The sprinters' teams seemed to have things under control when Joaquin Rodriguez lit the jets on a hill about 5 kilometers before the finish. Sitting in second place, just 9 seconds behind Hesjedal (and some experts' pick to win this Giro), this was not a move to be ignored. Perhaps if the hill had been steeper Rodriguez would have made the move stick, but he was caught.

There was a hard left-hand corner just before the sprint. Filippo Pozzato seemed to clip Matthew Harley Goss' rear wheel. Chaos ensued. Mark Cavendish and several others were brought down. Ventoso took advantage of the other remaining upright riders' going too early and cleanly won the sprint. Ryder Hesjedal stayed out of trouble and will spend another day in pink.

Results :

    Tour de France: the Inside Story
  1. Francisco Ventoso (Movistar) 3hr 39min 15sec. 45.427 km/hr
  2. Fabio Felline (Androni Giocattoli) s.t.
  3. Giacomo Nizzolo (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  4. Damiano Caruso (Liquigas) s.t.
  5. Daniel Schorn (NetApp) s.t.
  6. Alexander Kristoff (Katusha) s.t.
  7. Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  8. Matthias Brandle (NetApp) s.t.
  9. Manuel Beletti (Ag2r) s.t.
  10. Daryl Impey (Orica-GreenEdge) s.t.
  11. Gianluca Brambilla (Colnago-CSF) s.t.
  12. Giovanni Visconti (Movistar) s.t.
  13. Dario Cataldo (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  14. Jon Izaquirre (Euskaltel) s.t.
  15. Geoffrey Soupe (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  16. Enrico Gasprotto (Astana) s.t.
  17. Francis De Greef (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  18. Sergey Lagutin (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  19. Valerio Agnoli (Liquigas) s.t.
  20. Paolo Tiralongo (Astana) s.t.
  21. Mirko Selvaggi (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  22. Daniele Pietropolli (Lampre) s.t.
  23. Gustav Erik Larsson (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  24. Daniel Moreno (Katusha) s.t.
  25. John Gadret (Ag2r) s.t.
  26. Mikel Nieve (Euskaltel) s.t.
  27. Bartosz Huzarski (NetApp) s.t.
  28. Sergio Pardilla (Movistar) s.t.
  29. Benat Intxausti (Movistar) s.t.
  30. José Rujano (Androni Giocattoli) s.t.
  31. Hubert Dupont (Ag2r) s.t.
  32. Joaquin Rodriguez (Katusha) s.t.
  33. Miguel Angel Rubiano (Androni Giocattoli) s.t.
  34. Michele Scarponi (Lampre) s.t.
  35. Damiano Cunego (Lampre) s.t.
  36. Stefan Denifl (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  37. Sergio Henao (Sky) s.t.
  38. Marzio Bruseghin (Movistar) s.t.
  39. Thomas Rohregger (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  40. Ivan Basso (Liquigas) s.t.
  41. Eros Capecchi (Liquigas) s.t.
  42. Diego Ulissi (Lampre) s.t.
  43. Bart De Clercq (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  44. Juan Manuel Garate (Rabobank) s.t.
  45. Juan Antonio Flecha (Sky) s.t.
  46. Oscar Gatto (Farnese Vini) s.t.
  47. Thomas De Gendt (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  48. Marco Pinotti (BMC) s.t.
  49. Stef Clement (Rabobank) s.t.
  50. Grischa Niermann (Rabobank) s.t.

GC after Stage 9:

  1. Pink Jersey Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Barracuda) 36hr 2min 40sec
  2. Joaquin Rodriguez (Katusha) @ 9sec
  3. Paolo Tiralongo (Astana) @ 15sec
  4. Roman Kreuziger (Astana) @ 35sec
  5. Benat Intxausti (Movistar) s.t.
  6. Ivan Basso (Liquigas) @ 40sec
  7. Damiano Caruso (Liquigas) @ 45sec
  8. Dario Cataldo (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) @ 46sec
  9. Frank Schleck (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 48sec
  10. Eros Capecchi (Liquigas) @ 52sec
  11. Rigoberto Uran (Sky) @ 53sec
  12. Michele Scarponi (Lampre) @ 54sec
  13. Domenico Pozzovivo (Colnago-CSF) @ 55sec
  14. Sergio Henao (Sky) @ 1min 10sec
  15. Damiano Cunego (Lampre) @ 1min 14sec
  16. Sylvester Szmyd (Liquigas) @ 1min 16sec
  17. Christian Vande Velde (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 1min 18sec
  18. Sergio Pardilla (Movistar) @ 1min 20sec
  19. Peter Stetina (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 1min 23sec
  20. Daniel Moreno (Katusha) s.t.
  21. Johann Tschopp (BMC) @ 1min 28sec
  22. Thomas De Gendt (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  23. Marco Pinotti (BMC) @ 1min 43sec
  24. Juan Manuel Garate (Rabobank) @ 1min 44sec
  25. Bartosz Huzarski (NetApp) @ 1min 47sec
  26. Serge Pauwels (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) @ 1min 54sec
  27. Giovanni Visconti (Movistar) @ 2min 1sec
  28. Jan Bakelants (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 2min 3sec
  29. Kevin Seeldrayers (Astana) @ 2min 15sec
  30. Marzio Bruseghin (Movistar) @ 2min 24sec
  31. Tom Jelte Slagter (Rabobank) @ 2min 26sec
  32. Gustav Erik Larsson (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  33. John Gadret (Ag2r) @ 2min 38sec
  34. José Rujano (Androni Giocattoli) @ 2min 39sec
  35. Gianluca Brambilla (Colnago-CSF) @ 2min 41sec
  36. Oliver Zaugg (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 2min 42sec
  37. Sandy Casar (FDJ-Big Mat) @ 2min 50sec
  38. Bart De Clercq (Lotto-Belisol) @ 2min 52sec
  39. Ivan Santaromita (BMC) s.t.
  40. Francis De Greef (Lotto-Belisol) @ 3min 17sec
  41. Mikel Nieve (Euskaltel) @ 3min 18sec
  42. Diego Ulissi (Lampre) @ 3min 23sec
  43. Volodymir Gustov (Saxo) @ 3min 27sec
  44. Sergey Lagutin (Vacansoleil) @ 3min 39sec
  45. Przemyslaw Niemiec (Lampre) @ 3min 44sec
  46. Grischa Niermann (Rabobank) @ 3min 55sec
  47. Hubert Dupont (Ag2r) @ 4min 10sec
  48. Bransilau Samoilau (Movistar) @ 4min 23sec
  49. Thomas Rohregger (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 4min 44sec
  50. Ivan velasco (Euskaltel) @ 4min 54sec

Points Competition

  1. Red jersey Matthew Harley Hoss (Orica-GreenEdge): 65 points
  2. Mark Cavendish (Sky): 61
  3. Miguel Angel Rubiano (Androni Giocattoli): 36
  4. Domenico Pozzovivo (Colnago-CSF): 35
  5. Francisco Ventoso (Movistar): 32

Climbers' Competition

  1. Blue Jersey Miguel Angel Rubiano (Androni Giocattoli): 24 points
  2. Michal Golas (Omega Pharma-Quick Step): 16
  3. Paolo Tiralongo (Astana): 9
  4. Domenico Pozzovivo (Colnago-CSF): 9
  5. Cesare Benedetti (NetApp): 7

Young Rider

  1. White jersey Damiano Caruso (Liquigas) 36hr 3min 25sec
  2. Rigoberto Uran (Sky) @ 8sec
  3. Sergio Henao (sky) @ 25sec
  4. Peter Stetina (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 38sec
  5. Tom Jelte Slagter (Rabobank) @ 1min 41sec

Stage 9 map and profile

Stage 9 map

Stage 9 map

Stage 9 profile

Stage 9 profile

Stage 9 photos

Mark Cavendish

Mark Cavendish looked good for a third stage win this Giro

Filippo Pozzato

Luigi Sarti looks over Filippo Pozzato's bike after the crash

Mark Cavendish

Mark Cavendish was among the fallen in crash just before the sprint.

Francisco Ventoso

Francisco José Ventoso enjoys his time on the podium

Ryder Hesjedal

Ryder Hesjedal gets another day in pink.

Matthew Harley Goss

Despite today's crash, Matthew Harley Goss remains the points classification leader. Shame the Giro got rid of the purple jersey for this competition.

Miguel Rubiano

The current King of the Mountains, Miguel Angel Rubiano

Damiano Caruso

Damiano Caruso, the leading young rider