BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2012 Giro D'Italia: Stage 7

Back to 2012 Giro page | Stage map and profile | Photos from Stage 7 |

Stage 7, Saturday, May 12: Recanti - Rocca di Cambio, 202 km

Stage 7 finish

The Race: A break went almost from the gun, but by the time the day's final and decisive climb to Rocca di Campbio began to bite, only Matteo Rabottini was left. Stefano Pirazzi bridged up to the fleeing Rabottini and the duo was quickly joined by José Herrada. Pirazzi was giving it all for the stage win and his speed was too much for Rabottini. In the peloton, Pink Jersey Adriano Malori was quickly tossed as the speed ramped up.

Androni Giocattoli riders kept the speed high for most of the ascent and the gap to the Pirazzi-Herrada break came down steadily. They were caught with about a kilometer to go. The final kilometer turned out to be a bear, stiffer and steeper than anticipated. 2011 Giro winner Michele Scarponi took off with Paolo Tiralongo on his wheel. Tiralongo came around for a big win. Ryder Hesjedal rode in 5 seconds later to take the overall lead.

Hesjedal is the real deal and has a genuine chance at winning the 2012 Giro. Will the team burn itself up keeping the jersey or will they let someone else take it for a while?


  1. Paolo Tiralongo (Astana) 5hr 51min 3sec. 35.379 km/hr
  2. Michele Scarponi (Lampre) s.t.
  3. Frank Schleck (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 3sec
  4. Joaquin Rodriguez (Katusha) s.t.
  5. Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 5sec
  6. Domenico Pozzovivo (Colnago-CSF) @ 9sec
  7. Daniel Moreno (Katusha) s.t.
  8. Ivan Basso (Liquigas) s.t.
  9. Mikel Nieve (Euskaltel) @ 11sec
  10. Giaanluca Brambilla (Colnago-CSF) s.t.
  11. Sergio Henao (sky) s.t.
  12. Benat Intxausti (Movistar) s.t.
  13. Eros Capecchi (Liquigas) s.t.
  14. Serge Pauwels (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  15. John Gadret (Ag2r) s.t.
  16. Damiano Caruso (Liquigas) s.t.
  17. Juan Manuel Garate (Rabobank) s.t.
  18. Roman Kreuziger (Astana) s.t.
  19. José Herrada (Movistar) s.t.
  20. Sergio Pardilla (Movistar) s.t.
  21. Tom Jelte Slagter (Rabobank) s.t.
  22. Damiano Cunego (Lampre) s.t.
  23. Sergey Lagutin (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  24. Rigoberto Uran (Sky) s.t.
  25. Christian Vande Velde (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  26. Johann Tschopp (BMC) s.t.
  27. Peter Stetina (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  28. Thomas De Gendt (Vacansoleil) @ 22sec
  29. José Rujano (Androni Giocattoli) s.t.
  30. Emanuele Sella (androni Giocattoli) @ 25sec
  31. Sylvester Szmyd (Liquigas) s.t.
  32. Giovanni Visconti (Movistar) s.t.
  33. Oliver Zuagg (Radio shack-Nissan) s.t.
  34. Marco Pintotti (BMC) s.t.
  35. Andrey Amador (Movistar) s.t.
  36. Dario Cataldo (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  37. Przemyslaw Niemiec (Lampre) s.t.
  38. Ivan Velasco (Euskaltel) s.t.
  39. Diego Ulissi (Lampre) @ 31sec
  40. Marzio Bruseghin (Movistar) s.t.
  41. Ivan Santaromita (BMC) s.t.
  42. Gustav Erik Larsson (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  43. Sandy Casar (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  44. Fabio Felline (Androni Giocattoli) s.t.
  45. Bart De Clercq (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  46. Kevin Seeldrayers (Astana) s.t.
  47. Volodymir Gustov (Saxo) s.t.
  48. Jan Bakelants (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  49. Jan Barta (NetApp) @ 38sec
  50. Francis De Greef (Lotto-Belisol) @ 40sec

GC after Stage 7:

  1. Pink Jersey Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Barracuda) 26hr 16min 53sec
  2. Paolo Tiralongo (Astana) @ 15sec
  3. Joaquin Rodriguez (Katusha) @ 17sec
  4. Christian Vande Velde (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 21sec
  5. Peter Stetina (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 26sec
  6. Daniel Moreno (Katusha) s.t.
  7. Roman Kreuziger (Astana) @ 35sec
  8. Ivan Basso (Liquigas) @ 40sec
  9. Damiano Caruso (Liquigas) @ 45sec
  10. Dario Cataldo (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) @ 46sec
  11. Marco Pinotti (BMC) s.t.
  12. Frank Schleck (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 48sec
  13. Benat Intxausti (Movistar) @ 51sec
  14. Eros Capecchi (Liquigas) @ 52sec
  15. Rigoberto Uran (Sky) @ 53sec
  16. Michele Scarponi (Lampre) @ 54sec
  17. Serge Pauwels (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) @ 57sec
  18. José Herrada (Movistar) @ 58sec
  19. Giovanni Visconti (Movistar) @ 1min 4sec
  20. Tanel Kangert (Astana) @ 1min 6sec
  21. Jan Bakelants (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  22. Sergio Henao (Sky) @ 1min 10sec
  23. Marzio Bruseghin (Movistar) @ 1min 12sec
  24. Damiano Cunego (Lampre) @ 1min 14sec
  25. Sylvester Szmyd (Liquigas) @ 1min 16sec
  26. Andrey Amador (Movistar) s.t.
  27. Kevin Seeldrayers (Astana) @ 1min 18sec
  28. Miguel Angel Rubiano (Androni Giocattoli) @ 1min 19sec
  29. Sergio Pardilla (Movistar) @ 1min 20sec
  30. Jan Barta (NetApp) @ 1min 21sec
  31. Johann Tschopp (BMC) @ 1min 28sec
  32. Diego Ulissi (Lampre) s.t.
  33. Tom Jelte Slagter (Rabobank) @ 1min 29sec
  34. Gustav Erik Larsson (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  35. Branislau Samoilau (Movistar) s.t.
  36. Thomas De Gendt (Vacansoleil) @ 1min 30sec
  37. Volodomyr Gustov (Saxo) @ 1min 32sec
  38. Domenico Pozzovivo (Colnago-CSF) @ 1min 42sec
  39. Przemyslaw Niemiec (Lampre) @ 1min 44sec
  40. Juan Manuel Garate (Rabobank) s.t.
  41. Sergey Lagutin (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  42. Oliver Zuagg (Radio shack-Nissan) @ 1min 45sec
  43. Bartosz Huzarski (NetApp) @ 1min 47sec
  44. Thomas Rohregger (Radio shack-Nissan) @ 1min 51sec
  45. Sandy Casar (FDJ-Big Mat) @ 1min 53sec
  46. Bart De Clercq (Lotto-Belisol) @ 1min 55sec
  47. Ivan Santaromita (BMC) s.t.
  48. Francis De Greef (Lotto-Belisol) @ 1min 57sec
  49. Grischa Niermann (Rabobank) @ 2min 0sec
  50. Nelson Oliveira (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 2min 8sec

Points Competition

  1. Red jersey Matthew Harley Goss (Garmin-Barracuda): 65 points
  2. Mark Cavendish (Sky): 53
  3. Miguel Angel Rubiano (Androni Giocattoli): 36
  4. Geraint Thomas (Sky): 26
  5. Paolo Tiralongo (Astana): 25

Climbers' Competition

  1. Blue Jersey Miguel Angel Rubiano (Androni Giocattoli): 24
  2. Michal Golas (Omega Pharma-Quick Step): 16
  3. Paolo Tiralongo (Astana): 9
  4. Cesare Benedetti (NetApp): 7
  5. Alfredo Balloni (Farnese Vini): 6

Young Rider

  1. White jersey Peter Stetina (Garmin-Barracuda) 26hr 17min 19sec
  2. Damiano Caruso (Liquigas) @ 19sec
  3. Rigoberto Uran (sky) @ 27sec
  4. Tanel Kangert (astana) @ 40sec
  5. Sergio Henao (Sky) @ 44sec


Gianni Meersman (Lotto-Belisol)

Stage map and profile

Stage 7 map

Stage 7 map

Stage 7 profile

Stage 7 profile

Photos from Stage 7:

Adriano Malori

Maglia Rosa Adriano Malori was dropped once things got really hot in the hills.



Luciano Rabotini

Luciano Rabotini was the last surviving member the day's first break.

Androni Giocattoli

Androni Giocattoli kept things hot on the final climb to Rocca di Cambio

Frank Schleck

Frank Schleck

Joaquin Rodriguez and Daniel Moreno

Joaquin Rodriguez and Daniel Moreno

Michele Scarponi and Paolo Tiralongo

Paolo Tiralongo kept his eyes on Michele Scarponi


Przemyslaw Niemiec lead Scarponi with Tiralongo right there.

Ryder Hesjedal

Ryder Hesjedal wasn't far behind.

Stage 7 finish

The hill got very steep near the finish. Scarponi jumped but Tiralongo was much faster.

Ryder Hesjedal

Five seconds later Ryder Hesjedal cruised in to take the maglia rosa.

Ryder Hesjedal

Will Hesjedal try to keep the jersey all the way to Milano?