BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italit, volume 1 Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1951 Omloop Het Volk ( HC)

This race is now "Het Nieuwsblad"

7th edition: March 11, 1951

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad podium history | 1950 edition | 1952 edition

Gent - Gent, 204 km / 36.519 km/hr
157 starters / 46 classified finishers

Jean Bogaerts

Jean Bogaerts forces the pace on a climb in the 1951 Het Volk with Pino Cerami chasing. Photo IF

Jean Bogaerts

Winner Jean Bogaerts in an undated photo

Complete Results:

Several ties were awarded starting with 9th place.

1 Jean Bogaerts Roche-Dunlop 5hr 35min 10sec
2 Lionel van Brabant @ 10 meters
3 Raymond Impanis Alcyon-Dunlop @ 30sec
4 André Maelbrancke Vredestein @ 35sec
5 André Declercq Bertin s.t.
6 Gino Sciardis s.t.
7 Valère Ollivier Bertin s.t.
8 Frans Loyaerts s.t.
9 Marcel Ryckaert s.t.
9 André Pieters s.t.
9 Jules Depoorter s.t.
12 Ernest Sterckx Terrot-Wolber s.t.
13 Martin Vandenbroeck s.t.
14 Marcel Kint s.t.
14 Julien Van Dycke s.t.
16 Jozef De Feyter Terrot-Wolber s.t.
17 André Verfaillie s.t.
18 Lode Anthonis s.t.
18 René Oreel s.t.
18 Pino Cerami s.t.
18 Alfons Guns s.t.
18 Jan Lambrichs s.t.
18 Maurice Meersman s.t.
18 Jan Storms s.t.
18 Eugène van Roosbroeck s.t.
18 Joseph van Staeyen s.t.
27 Wout Wagtmans s.t.
28 Maurice Blomme Bertin s.t.
29 Roger Decock s.t.
30 Michel Mahieu s.t.
31 Roger Chupin s.t.
32 Alois van Steenkiste s.t.
33 Omer Mommerency s.t.
34 Basiel Wambeke s.t.
35 Lucien Deman s.t.
36 Ghislain Leclercq s.t.
37 Noé Pommelaere s.t.
38 Georges Casier s.t.
39 Maurice Joye s.t.
40 Frans Leenen s.t.
41 Henk De Hoog s.t.
42 Marcel Hendrickx s.t.
43 Briek Schotte s.t.
44 Frans Slegers s.t.
45 Roger Desmet s.t.
46 Marcel Deneve s.t.