BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italit, volume 1 Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1988 Liège-Bastogne-Liège

74th edition: Sunday, April 17, 1988

Liège-Bastogne-Liège podium history | 1989 edition | 1987 edition |

192 starters, 68 classified finishers

Belgium, 260 km: 38.81 km/hr average speed

Adrie Van der Poel in 1993

Adrie Van der Poel at the start of the 1993 Paris-Roubaix

Complete Results:

  1. Adrie Van der Poel (PDM) 6hr 42min 0sec
  2. Michel Dernies (Lotto) s.t.
  3. Robert Millar (Fagor) s.t.
  4. Steven Rooks (PDM) @ 34sec
  5. Sean Kelly (KAS) @ 45sec
  6. Luc Roosen (Roland) s.t.
  7. Charly Mottet (Système U) s.t.
  8. Rolf Sørensen (Ariostea) s.t.
  9. Phil Anderson (TVM) s.t.
  10. Martin Earley (KAS) s.t.
  11. Michael Wilson (Weinmann-La Suisse) s.t.
  12. Moreno Argentin (Gewiss-Bianchi) s.t.
  13. Frederic Vichot (Weinmann-Las Suisse) s.t.
  14. Brian Holm (Roland) s.t.
  15. Fons de Wolf (ADR) s.t.
  16. Gert-Jan Theunisse (PDM) s.t.
  17. Dominique Gaigne (Toshiba) s.t.
  18. Bruno Cornillet (Z-Peugeot) s.t.
  19. Gianni Bugno (Chateau d'Ax-Salotti) s.t.
  20. Eric Boyer (Système U) s.t.
  21. Jesus Rodriguez (Reynolds) s.t.
  22. Jörg Müller (PDM) s.t.
  23. Serge Demierre (Weinmann-La Suisse) s.t.
  24. Per Johnny Pedersen (RMO) s.t.
  25. Bruno Hürlimann (Cyndarella-Isotonic) s.t.
  26. Claude Criquielion (Hitachi) s.t.
  27. Eric Vanderaerden (Panasonic) s.t.
  28. Frano Vona (Chateau d'Ax-Salotti) s.t.
  29. Dag-Otto Lauritzen (7-Eleven) s.t.
  30. Pascal Simon (Système U) s.t.
  31. Denis Roux (Z-Peugeot) s.t.
  32. Edwig van Hooydonck (Superconfex-Yoko) s.t.
  33. Pedro Delgado (Reynolds) s.t.
  34. Michel Bibollet (RMO) s.t.
  35. Acacio da Silva (KAS) s.t.
  36. Marc Madiot (Toshiba) @ 50sec
  37. Erik Breukink (Panasonic-Isostar) s.t.
  38. Eric van Lancker (Panasonic-Isostar) s.t.
  39. Yvon Madiot (Toshiba) @ 1min 2sec
  40. Bernard Chesneau (SEFB-Tonissteiner) @ 7min 10sec
  41. Fabian Fuchs (Cyndarella-Isotonic) s.t.
  42. Jaanus Kuum (ADR) s.t.
  43. John Talen (Panasonic-Isostar) s.t.
  44. Mauro Gianetti (Weinmann-La Suisse)@ 8min 16sec
  45. Pello Ruiz Cabestany (KAS) s.t.
  46. Johnny Broers (Caja Rural-Orbea) s.t.
  47. Stefan Morjean (Hitachi) s.t.
  48. Julian Gorospe (Reynolds) s.t.
  49. Marc van Orsouw (PDM) s.t.
  50. Francesco Cesarini (Ariostea) s.t.
  51. Luc Ronsse (Isoglass-EVS-Robland) s.t.
  52. Jos Haex (Hitachi) s.t.
  53. Rolf Järmann (Cyndarella-Isotonic) s.t.
  54. Rudy Dhaenens (PDM) s.t.
  55. Eric Caritoux (KAS) s.t.
  56. Ludwig Wijnants (Sigma-Fina) s.t.
  57. Rolf Gölz (Superconfex-Yoko) s.t.
  58. Peter Roes (Lotto) s.t.
  59. Bruno Bruyère (Hitachi) s.t.
  60. Frank Hoste (ADR) s.t.
  61. Beat Breu (Cyndarella-Isotonic) s.t.
  62. Peter Harings (Panasonic-Isostar) s.t.
  63. Alessandro Pozzo (Chatau d'Ax-Salotti) s.t.
  64. Alberto Volpi (Gewiss-Bianchi) s.t.
  65. Henk Lubberding (Panasonic-Isostar) s.t.
  66. Jesper Skibby (Roland) s.t.
  67. Roque de la Cruz (Caja Rural) @ 14min 31sec
  68. Andy Hampsten (7-Eleven) s.t.