BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Bicycle History Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1980 Liège-Bastogne-Liège

66th edition: Sunday, April 20, 1980

Liège-Bastogne-Liège podium history | 1981 edition | 1979 edition |

174 starters, 21 classified finishers

Belgium, 244 km: 34.72 km/hr average speed

Bernard Hinault

Complete Results:

  1. Bernard Hinault (Renault-Gitane) 7hr 1min 42sec
  2. Hennie Kuiper (Peugeot-Esso) @ 9min 24sec
  3. Ronny Claes (Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis) s.t.
  4. Fons de Wolf (Boule d'Or-Studio Casa) @ 10min 34sec
  5. Pierre Bazzo (La Redoute) s.t.
  6. Ludo Peeters (Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis) s.t.
  7. Herman van Springel (Safir-Ludo) @ 12min 5sec
  8. Guido van Calster (Splendor-Admiral) @ 12min 35sec
  9. Johan Van der Velde (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
  10. Eddy Schepers (DAF Truck-Lejeune) s.t.
  11. Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle (Peugeot-Esso) s.t.
  12. Silvano Contini (Bianchi-Piaggio) s.t.
  13. Henk Lubberding (TI-Raleigh) @ 16min 3sec
  14. Stefan Mutter (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
  15. Pascal Simon (Peugeot-Esso) s.t.
  16. Jan Jonkers (Boston-Mavic) @ 17min 59sec
  17. Bert Oosterbosch (TI-Raleigh) @ 18min 35sec
  18. Paul Wellens (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
  19. Frits Pirard (Miko-Mercier) s.t.
  20. Jean-Raymond Roso (Puch-Campagnolo) @ 24min 6sec
  21. Jostein Wilmann (Puch-Campagnolo) @ 27min 0sec