BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Bicycle History Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1947 Liège-Bastogne-Liège

33rd edition: Sunday, April 20, 1947

Liège-Bastogne-Liège podium history | 1948 edition | 1946 edition |

168 starters, 50 classified finishers.

Belgium, 218 km: 33.71 km/hr average speed

Richard Depoorter

Richard Depoorter.
Depoorter died June 16, 1948 while descending the Susten Pass in the Tour of Switzerland. He was only 33.

Complete Results:

  1. Richard Depoorter (Garin-Wolber) 6hr 28min 0sec
  2. Raymond Impanis (Alcyon-Dunlop) @ 4sec
  3. Florent Mathieu (Rochet-Dunlop) s.t.
  4. Louis Thietard (Métropole-Dunlop) s.t.
  5. Stan Ockers (Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  6. Joseph Tacca s.t.
  7. Marcel Ryckaert (Mercier-Hutchinson) @ 1min 14sec
  8. René Oreel (Bertin-Wolber) s.t.
  9. Maurice de Wannemaecker s.t.
  10. Désiré Stadsbaeder (Arbos-Talbot) s.t.
  11. Josef Hoogaerts s.t.
  12. Camille Beeckman s.t.
  13. Marcel Dupont (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  14. Bim Diderich (Arbos-Talbot) s.t.
  15. Juul Huvaere (Celta-Erka) s.t.
  16. Maurice van Herzele @ 5min 35sec
  17. Maurice-André Deschacht @ 5min 55sec
  18. Gustaaf van Overloop (l'Express) @ 6min 0sec
  19. Piet Rijnders s.t.
  20. Raymond Desmedt (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  21. Norbert Callens (Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
  22. Emile Masson, Jr. (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  23. Lucien Vlaeminck (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  24. Jan Engels s.t.
  25. Briek Schotte (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  26. Victor Jacobs (Starnord-Wolber) s.t.
  27. Joseph Van der Helst s.t.
  28. Louis Nackaerts (Garin-Wolber) s.t.
  29. Désiré Keteleer @ 8min 30sec
  30. Maurice De Muer (Peugeot-Dunlop) @ 11min 12sec
  31. Jacques Geus (Rochet-Dunlop) s.t.
  32. Jean "Bim" Kirchen (Rochet-Dunlop) s.t.
  33. Victor Jonckheere s.t.
  34. Albert Pottgens s.t.
  35. Camille Danguillaume s.t.
  36. Adolphe Verschueren s.t.
  37. Hubert Deltour s.t.
  38. Raymond Careme s.t.
  39. Albert Ritsveldt s.t.
  40. Roger Decorte s.t.
  41. Jan Dielis s.t.
  42. Albert Anutchin s.t.
  43. René Beyens s.t.
  44. Achiel Buysse s.t.
  45. Jacques Vecray (Rochet-Dunlop) s.t.
  46. Joseph Bintener s.t.
  47. André Desmoulins s.t.
  48. Emile Rogiers (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t
  49. Joseph Meert s.t.
  50. Frans Holbrecht s.t.