BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Bicycle History Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1909 Liège-Bastogne-Liège

5th edition: Sunday, May 16, 1909

Liège-Bastogne-Liège podium history | 1911 edition | 1908 edition |

82 starters, 41 classified finishers.

Belgium: 235 km, 28.14 km/hr

The 1909 edition was organized for amateur racers.

Eugène Charlier crossed the line first but was relegated for making an illegal bike change after he suffered a broken fork.

Victor Fastre

Victor Fastre

Complete Results:

  1. Victor Fastre 8hr 21min
  2. Eugène Charlier s.t.
  3. Paul Deman s.t.
  4. Félicien Salmon s.t.
  5. Hector Tiberghien s.t.
  6. Charles Deruyter s.t.
  7. Arthur Geoffroy s.t.
  8. Aimé Behaeghe s.t.
  9. Joseph Matagne @ 1min 30sec
  10. Jacques Coomans s.t.
  11. Henri Dubois s.t.
  12. Alois Verstraeten s.t.
  13. Philippe Thys s.t.
  14. Jean Demarteau s.t.
  15. Hubert Dome s.t.
  16. Félicien Georis s.t.
  17. Pierre Everaerts s.t.
  18. Hubert Schaeffer s.t.
  19. Raymond van Parijs s.t.
  20. Alfred Mosbeux s.t.
  21. Louis Schroeder s.t.
  22. Benoît Heyvaert s.t.
  23. Hubert Vroeman s.t.
  24. Guillaume Dubois s.t.
  25. Charles Haïdon s.t.
  26. Noël Delcour s.t.
  27. Jules Wiot-Walliet s.t.
  28. Pierre Boland s.t.
  29. Victor Parmentier s.t.
  30. Nicolas Dewaïde s.t.
  31. Albert Devroye s.t.
  32. Louis van Acker s.t.
  33. Jean-Baptiste Renkin s.t.
  34. Omer Detry s.t.
  35. Jean Tenroë s.t.
  36. Oscar Strobbe s.t.
  37. René Tixhon s.t.
  38. Pierre Ledent s.t.
  39. Mottin s.t.
  40. Jean Cloots s.t.
  41. Guillaume Petry s.t.