BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2003 Gent - Wevelgem (HC) Results

Ghent - Wevelgem (English), Gand - Wevelgem (French)

65th edition: April 9, 2003

Gent - Wevelgem podium history | 2002 edition | 2004 edition

204 km / 45.50 km/hr
164 starters / 49 classified finishers

Andreas Klier

Winner Andreas Klier racing in the 2005 Tour of Flanders

Complete results:

Both Paolo Bettini and Ludo Dierckxsens crashed early in the race, both have badly injured shoulders. The winning break containing 12 riders went at about 30 kilometers to go. Mario Cipollini was disqualified

1 Andreas Klier (Deutsche Telekom) 4hr 29min 
2 Henk Vogels (Navigators Insurance) s.t.
3 Tom Boonen (Quick Step-Davitamon) s.t.
4 Alberto Ongarato (Domina Vacanze-Elitron) @ 9sec
5 Servais Knaven (Quick Step-Davitamon) @ 18sec
6 Raivis Belohvosciks (Marlux-Wincor Nixdorf) @ 43sec
7 Johan Museeuw (Quick Step-Davitamon) @ 1min 7sec
8 Roger Hammond (Palmans-Collstrop) s.t.
9 Max Van Heeswijk (US Postal Service) s.t.
10 Mathew Hayman (Rabobank) s.t.
11 Fabian Cancellara (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
12 Giovanni Lombardi (Domina Vacanze-Elitron) s.t.
13 Oleg Grishkine (Navigators Insurance) @ 3min 58sec
14 Danilo Hondo (Deutsche Telekom) @ 3min 59sec
15 Marco Zanotti (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
16 Jaan Kirsipuu (AG2R Prévoyance) s.t.
17 Nico Eeckhout (Lotto-Domo) s.t.
18 Wilfried Cretskens (Quick Step-Davitamon) s.t.
19 Andy Flickinger (AG2R Prévoyance) s.t.
20 Andrey Kashechkin (Quick Step-Davitamon) @ 4min 0sec
21 Aart Vierhouten (Lotto-Domo) @ 4min 1sec
22 Leon Van Bon (Lotto-Domo) @ 5min 20sec
23 Juan Antonio Flecha ( @ 6min 8sec
24 Staf Scheirlinckx ( @ 6min 11sec
25 Tom Steels (Landbouwkrediet-Colnago) @ 6min 16sec
26 Robbie McEwen (Lotto-Domo) s.t.
27 David Kopp (Deutsche Telekom) s.t.
28 Stefan Van Dijk (Lotto-Domo) s.t.
29 Steven De Jongh (Rabobank) s.t.
30 Rudi Kemna (Bankgiroloterij) s.t.
31 Ludovic Capelle (Landbouwkrediet-Colnago) s.t.
32 Viatcheslav Ekimov (US Postal Service) s.t.
33 Ciaran Power (Navigators Insurance) s.t.
34 Nico Mattan (Cofidis) s.t.
35 Sergey Ivanov (Fassa Bortolo) s.t.
36 Olaf Pollack (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
37 Julian Dean (Team CSC) s.t.
38 Oscar Freire (Rabobank) s.t.
39 Bram Tankink (Quick Step-Davitamon) s.t.
40 José Enrique Gutiérrez (Kelme-Costa Blanca) s.t.
41 Bert Scheirlinckx ( s.t.
42 Karsten Kroon (Rabobank) s.t.
43 Chris Peers (Cofidis) s.t.
44 José Vicente Garcia ( s.t.
46 Andrea Tafi (Team CSC) s.t.
47 Marc Wauters (Rabobank) s.t.
48 Lorenzo Bernucci (Landbouwkrediet-Colnago) s.t.
49 Jan Boven (Rabobank) s.t.