BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1977 Gent - Wevelgem,

Ghent - Wevelgem (English), Gand - Wevelgem (French)

39th edition, April 19, 1977

Gent - Wevelgem podium history | 1976 edition | 1978 edition

277 km / 41.24 km/hr
131 starters, 38 classified finishers

Bernard Hinault

Winner Bernard Hinault in 1981

Complete Results:

1 Bernard Hinault (Gitane-Campagnolo) 6hr 43min
2 Vittorio Algeri (G.B.C.) @ 1min 24sec
3 Piet Van Katwijk (TI-Raleigh) @ 1min 58sec
4 Walter Godefroot (Ijsboerke-Colnago) s.t.
5 Willy Teirlinck (Gitane-Campagnolo) s.t.
6 André Dierickx (Maes Pils-Mini Flat) s.t.
7 Patrick Béon (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) @ 2min 0sec
8 Ludo Peeters (Ijsboerke-Colnago) @ 3min 0sec
9 Pierino Gavazzi (Jolly Ceramica) @ 3min 50sec
10 Jan Raas (Frisol-Thirion-Gazelle) s.t.
11 Jos Jacobs (Ijsboerke-Colnago) s.t.
12 Bernard Quilfen (Gitane-Campagnolo) s.t.
13 Dietrich Thurau (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
14 Gerrie Knetemann (TI-Raleigh) @ 4min 10sec
15 Frans Verbeeck (Ijsboerke-Colnago) s.t.
16 Dorino Vanzo (G.B.C.) @ 4min 30sec
17 Eric Jacques (Maes Pils-Mini Flat) s.t.
18 Fons Van Katwijk (Carpenter-Zeepcentrale-Splendor) @ 4min 35sec
19 Eddy Cael (Maes Pils-Mini Flat) s.t.
20 Henk Lubberding (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
21 Alfredo Chinetti (Jolly Ceramica) s.t.
22 Fedor Den Hertog (Frisol-Thirion-Gazelle) s.t.
23 Eric Van De Wiele (Maes Pils-Mini Flat) @ 4min 55sec
24 Jean-pierre Berckmans (Carpenter-Zeepcentrale-Splendor) s.t.
25 Adri Jos Schipper (Ebo-Superia) s.t.
26 Roberto Ceruti (G.B.C.) @ 5min 0sec
27 Jean-luc Vandenbroucke (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
28 Jacques Bossis (Gitane-Campagnolo) s.t.
29 Geert Malfait (Frisol-Thirion-Gazelle) s.t.
30 André Mollet (Maes Pils-Mini Flat) s.t.
31 Fausto Bertoglio (Jolly Ceramica) @ 5min 15sec
32 Albert Van Vlierberghe (Flandria-Velda-Latina) s.t.
33 Jean Vanderstappen (Carpenter-Zeepcentrale-Splendor) s.t.
34 Luc Leman (Ijsboerke-Colnago) @ 5min 20sec
35 Giovanni Battaglin (Jolly Ceramica) s.t.
36 Walter Planckaert (Maes Pils-Mini Flat) s.t.
37 Herman Van Springel (Ijsboerke-Colnago) s.t.
38 Guy Sibille (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.