BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1974 Gent - Wevelgem,

Ghent - Wevelgem (English), Gand - Wevelgem (French)

36th edition, April 2, 1974

Gent - Wevelgem podium history | 1973 edition | 1975 edition

244 km / 44.36 km/hr
160 starters, 86 classified finishers

A small group made it to the finish, and when a gap opened up between Eddy Merckx and Eric Leman, British rider Barry Hoban saw his chance. Always a fast finisher, Hoban went straight through the hole to win the classic.

Barry Hoban wins 1974 Gent-Wevelgem

Barry Hoban wins 1974 Gent-Wevelgem

Complete Results:

1 Barry Hoban (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) 5hr 30min
2 Eddy Merckx (Molteni) s.t.
3 Roger De Vlaeminck (Brooklyn) s.t.
4 Alain Santy (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
5 Eric Leman (M.I.C.-Ludo-De Gribaldy) s.t.
6 Freddy Maertens (Carpenter-Confortluxe-Flandria) s.t.
7 Walter Planckaert (Watney-Maes Pils) s.t.
8 Walter Godefroot (Carpenter-Confortluxe-Flandria) s.t.
9 Frans Verbeeck (Watney-Maes Pils) s.t.
10 Roger Swerts (Ijsboerke-Colner) s.t.
11 Willy De Geest (Rokado) s.t.
12 Jacques Esclassan (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
13 Raymond Poulidor (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
14 Charly Rouxel (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
15 Herman Van Springel (M.I.C.-Ludo-De Gribaldy) s.t.
16 Tino Tabak (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
17 Jean-Pierre Danguillaume (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
18 José Catieau (Bic) @ 3min 25sec
19 Michel Périn (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
20 Patrick Sercu (Brooklyn) s.t.
21 José De Cauwer (Sonolor-Gitane) @ 3min 30sec
22 Gustaaf Van Roosbroeck (M.I.C.-Ludo-De Gribaldy) s.t.
23 Gustaaf Hermans (Rokado) s.t.
24 Ronny Van De Vijver (Ijsboerke-Colner) s.t.
25 Jean-Jacques Fussien (Bic) s.t.
26 Louis Verreydt (Ijsboerke-Colner) s.t.
27 Joseph Huysmans (Molteni) s.t.
28 Gustaaf Van Cauter (Watney-Maes Pils) s.t.
29 Roger Rosiers (Molteni) s.t.
30 Adriano Passuello (Brooklyn) @ 3min 35sec
31 Wim De Waal (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
32 Wilfried David (Carpenter-Confortluxe-Flandria) s.t.
33 Hennie Kuiper (Rokado) s.t.
34 René Pijnen (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
35 Willy In't Ven (Ijsboerke-Colner) s.t.
36 Régis Ovion (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
37 Englebert Opdebeeck (Watney-Maes Pils) s.t.
38 Jürgen Tschan (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
39 Johan De Muynck (Brooklyn) s.t.
40 Dirk Baert (M.I.C.-Ludo-De Gribaldy) s.t.
41 Joseph Abelshausen (Ijsboerke-Colner) s.t.
42 Herman Vrijders (M.I.C.-Ludo-De Gribaldy) s.t.
43 Alfred Gaida (Rokado) s.t.
44 Gérard Besnard (Sonolor-Gitane) s.t.
45 Etienne Antheunis (Gero Verwarming) s.t.
46 William (Billy) Bilsland (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
47 Alain Vasseur (Bic) s.t.
48 Eddy Cael (Carpenter-Confortluxe-Flandria) s.t.
49 Wilfried Wesemael (M.I.C.-Ludo-De Gribaldy) s.t.
50 Jean-pierre Berckmans (Molteni) s.t.
51 Jacques-André Hochart (Magiglace-Juaneda) s.t.
52 Ludo Vanderlinden (Ijsboerke-Colner) s.t.
53 Jos Jacobs (Ijsboerke-Colner) s.t.
54 Gerrie Knetemann (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
55 Valerio Lualdi (Brooklyn) s.t.
56 Wim Prinsen (Frisol-Flair Plastics) s.t.
57 Aldo Parecchini (Brooklyn) s.t.
58 Alex Van Linden (Ijsboerke-Colner) s.t.
59 Karl-Heinz Küster (Rokado) s.t.
60 Wil De Vlam (Frisol-Flair Plastics) s.t.
61 Dorino Vanzo (Jolly Ceramica) s.t.
62 Giovanni Jimenez Ocampo (Magiglace-Juaneda) s.t.
63 Julien Van Lint (Brooklyn) s.t.
64 Ronny Vanmarcke (M.I.C.-Ludo-De Gribaldy) s.t.
65 Enzo Mattioda (Sonolor-Gitane) s.t.
66 Luc D'Hondt (Watney-Maes Pils) s.t.
67 Attilio Rota (Brooklyn) s.t.
68 Jean-Louis Danguillaume (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
69 Frans Van Looy (Carpenter-Confortluxe-Flandria) s.t.
70 Jacques Botherel (Sonolor-Gitane) s.t.
71 Robert Mintkiewicz (Sonolor-Gitane) s.t.
72 Pierino Gavazzi (Jolly Ceramica) s.t.
73 Herman Van Der Slagmolen (Brooklyn) s.t.
74 Alfons De Bal (M.I.C.-Ludo-De Gribaldy) s.t.
75 Raymond Riotte (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
76 Guido Van Sweevelt (Watney-Maes Pils) s.t.
77 Guy Maingon (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) s.t.
78 Joop Zoetemelk (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
79 Leif Mortensen (Bic) s.t.
80 Jos Van Beers (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
81 Ferdinand Bracke (Watney-Maes Pils) s.t.
82 Lucien Van Impe (Sonolor-Gitane) s.t.
83 Victor Van Schil (Molteni) s.t.
84 Donald John Allan (Frisol-Flair Plastics) s.t.
85 Bas Hordijk (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
86 Karel Rottiers (Molteni) s.t.