BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1966 Gent - Wevelgem,

Ghent - Wevelgem (English), Gand - Wevelgem (French)

28th edition, March 23, 1966

Gent - Wevelgem podium history | 1965 edition | 1967 edition

251.7 km / 38.324 km/hr
145 starters, 67 classified finishers

Herman van Springel

Winner Herman van Springel

Complete Results:

1 Herman Van Springel (Dr. Mann-Grundig) 6hr 34min
2 Noël Van Clooster (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
3 Palle Lykke Jensen (Solo-Superia) @ 50sec
4 Arthur Decabooter (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
5 Seamus Elliott (Mercier-Hutchinson-BP) @ 1min 2sec
6 Walter Godefroot (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
7 Jan Janssen (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
8 Willy Bocklant (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
9 Eddy Merckx (Peugeot-Michelin-BP) s.t.
10 Bernard Vandekerkhove (Ford France-Hutchinson) s.t.
11 Noël Fore (Romeo-Smiths) s.t.
12 Joseph Huysmans (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
13 Gerben Karstens (Televizier-Batavus) s.t.
14 Jan Lauwers (Romeo-Smiths) s.t.
15 Edward Sels (Solo-Superia) s.t.
16 Frans Verbeeck (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
17 Gilbert Desmet (Romeo-Smiths) s.t.
18 Roger De Coninck (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
19 Armand Desmet (Solo-Superia) s.t.
20 Dieter Puschel (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
21 Bastiaan Maliepaard (Televizier-Batavus) s.t.
22 Rik Van Looy (Solo-Superia) s.t.
23 Jacques Anquetil (Ford France-Hutchinson) s.t.
24 Jacques De Boever (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
25 Théo Verschueren (Romeo-Smiths) s.t.
26 Joseph Spruyt (Mercier-Hutchinson-BP) s.t.
27 Robert Lelangue (Solo-Superia) 4'20"
28 Jozef Planckaert s.t.
29 Vittorio Adorni (Salvarani) s.t.
30 Arie Den Hartog (Ford France-Hutchinson) s.t.
31 Willy Planckaert (Romeo-Smiths) 4'35"
32 Yvo Molenaers (Romeo-Smiths) 5'10"
33 Cees Van Espen (Televizier-Batavus) s.t.
34 Barry Hoban (Mercier-Hutchinson-BP) 5'40"
35 Hubert Criel (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
36 Julien Haelterman (Romeo-Smiths) s.t.
37 René Mertens s.t.
38 Jacques Del'haye (Leroux-Terrot) s.t.
39 Robert De Middeleir (Libertas) s.t.
40 Joseph Wouters s.t.
41 Frans Melkenbeek (Mercier-Hutchinson-BP) s.t.
42 Roland Van De Rijse (Romeo-Smiths) s.t.
43 Cees Lute (Ford France-Hutchinson) s.t.
44 Léo Van Dongen (Televizier-Batavus) s.t.
45 Alfons Hermans (Libertas) s.t.
46 Gilbert Desmet (Romeo-Smiths) s.t.
47 Georges Vandenberghe (Romeo-Smiths) s.t.
48 Noël De Pauw (Solo-Superia) s.t.
49 Michael Wright (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
50 Henri Omloop s.t.
51 Albert Van Vlierberghe (Romeo-Smiths) s.t.
52 Cees Haast (Televizier-Batavus) s.t.
53 Jean-Pierre Genêt (Mercier-Hutchinson-BP) 7'15"
54 Roger De Wilde (Libertas) 12'17"
55 Willy Van Den Bulck (Goldor) s.t.
56 Oswald Declercq (Leroux-Terrot) s.t.
57 Frans Van De Walle (Goldor) s.t.
58 Henry Anglade (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
59 Johnny Schleck (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
60 Willy Hoogewijs (Leroux-Terrot) 13'35"
61 Daniel Salmon (Kamome-Dilecta-Dunlop) s.t.
62 Freddy De Blieck (Goldor) s.t.
63 Amalio Hortelano s.t.
64 Alan Ramsbottom (Peugeot-Michelin-BP) s.t.
65 Henk Nijdam (Televizier-Batavus) s.t.
66 Reindert De Jongh (Ruberg-Continental) s.t.
67 Edouard Delberghe (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.