BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1976 La Flèche Wallonne

40th Edition: April 15, 1976

La Flèche Wallonne podium history | 1975 edition | 1977 edition

Verviers - Verviers,
227 km, 39.60 km/hr
152 starters, 42 classified finishers

Joop Zoetemelk

1976 Flèche Wallone winner Joop Zoetemelk

Complete results:

1 Joop Zoetemelk (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) 5hr 43min 5sec
2 Frans Verbeeck (Ijsboerke-Colnago) @ 57sec
3 Freddy Maertens (Flandria-Velda) s.t.
4 Eddy Merckx (Molteni-Campagnolo) s.t.
5 Walter Godefroot (Ijsboerke-Colnago) @ 5min 44sec
6 Herman Van Springel (Flandria-Velda) s.t.
7 Dietrich Thurau (TI-Raleigh-Campagnolo) s.t.
8 André Dierickx (Maes Pils-Rokado) s.t.
9 Lucien Van Impe (Gitane-Campagnolo) s.t.
10 Ludo Peeters (Ijsboerke-Colnago) 9'57"
11 Englebert Opdebeeck (Ijsboerke-Colnago) s.t.
12 Eric Jacques (Ebo-Cinzia) 12'50"
13 Régis Ovion (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
14 Willy Teirlinck (Gitane-Campagnolo) s.t.
15 Ferdi Van Den Haute (Ebo-Cinzia) s.t.
16 Ludo Delcroix (Molteni-Campagnolo) s.t.
17 Ferdinand Bracke (Lejeune-BP) s.t.
18 Patrick Perret (Miko-De Gribaldy-Superia) s.t.
19 Lieven Malfait (Maes Pils-Rokado) 13'17"
20 Bernard Draux (Molteni-Campagnolo) s.t.
21 Eric Van De Wiele (Maes Pils-Rokado) 14'05"
22 Patrick Béon (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
23 André Mollet (Maes Pils-Rokado) s.t.
24 André Chalmel (Gitane-Campagnolo) s.t.
25 Bernard Vallet (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
26 Victor Van Schil (Molteni-Campagnolo) s.t.
27 Charly Rouxel (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
28 Raymond Poulidor (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
29 Hennie Kuiper (TI-Raleigh-Campagnolo) s.t.
30 Cornelius 'Cees' Bal (Molteni-Campagnolo) s.t.
31 Jacques Esclassan (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) 15'25"
32 Paul Lannoo (Frisol-Gazelle) 18'10"
33 Cees Priem (Frisol-Gazelle) 22'17"
34 Guy Leleu (Gitane-Campagnolo) s.t.
35 Eddy Verstraeten (Ijsboerke-Colnago) s.t.
36 Jos Jacobs (Ijsboerke-Colnago) s.t.
37 Dieudonné Depireux (Zoppas-Splendor-Sinalco) 25'12"
38 Rafael Constant (Zoppas-Splendor-Sinalco) s.t.
39 Roger Gilson (Frisol-Gazelle) s.t.
40 Jan Aling (Ebo-Cinzia) s.t.
41 Henk Prinsen (Frisol-Gazelle) s.t.
42 Meinrad Vögele (Kaenel) 28'00"