BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1974 La Flèche Wallonne

38th Edition: April 11, 1974

La Flèche Wallonne podium history | 1973 edition | 1975 edition

Verviers - Verviers,
225 km, 38.03 km/hr
205 starters, 61 classified finishers

Frans Verbeeck

1974 Flèche Wallone winner Frans Verbeeck

Complete results:

3rd place Walter Godefroot disqualified for doping positive

1 Frans Verbeeck (Watney-Maes) 5hr 55min
2 Roger De Vlaeminck (Brooklyn) s.t.
3 Walter Godefroot
4 Eric Leman (M.I.C.-De Gribaldy-Ludo) s.t.
5 Alain Santy (Ga Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
6 Freddy Maertens (Carpenter-Confortluxe-Flandria) s.t.
7 Herman Van Springel (M.I.C.-De Gribaldy-Ludo) s.t.
8 Walter Planckaert (Watney-Maes) s.t.
9 André Dierickx (Merlin Plage-Shimano-Flandria) s.t.
10 Miguel Maria Lasa Urquia (KAS-Kaskol) s.t.
11 Franco Bitossi (SCIC) s.t.
12 Roberto Poggiali (Filotex) s.t.
13 Michel Périn (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
14 Roger Swerts (Ijsboerke-Colner) s.t.
15 Willy De Geest (Rokado) s.t.
16 Georges Pintens (M.I.C.-De Gribaldy-Ludo) s.t.
17 Victor Van Schil (Molteni) s.t.
18 Joseph Huysmans (Molteni) s.t.
19 Hennie Kuiper (Rokado) s.t.
20 Raymond Poulidor (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
21 Ronald De Witte (Carpenter-Confortluxe-Flandria) s.t.
22 Joop Zoetemelk (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
23 Wladimiro Panizza (Brooklyn) s.t.
24 Lucien Van Impe (Sonolor-Gitane) s.t.
25 Jacques Martin (Molteni) s.t.
26 Johan De Muynck (Brooklyn) s.t.
27 Joseph Bruyère (Molteni) 1'55"
28 Roger Pingeon (Jobo-Lejeune) 2'55"
29 José Catieau (Bic) s.t.
30 Santiago Lazcano Labaca (KAS-Kaskol) s.t.
31 Gianbattista Baronchelli (SCIC) 4'45"
32 Dorino Vanzo (Jolly Ceramica) 6'05"
33 Willy In't Ven (Ijsboerke-Colner) 8'20"
34 Jos Jacobs (Ijsboerke-Colner) s.t.
35 Jean-claude Blocher (Jobo - Lejeune) s.t.
36 Jean-pierre Berckmans (Molteni) s.t.
37 Wilfried Wesemael (M.I.C.-De Gribaldy-Ludo) s.t.
38 Ludo Van Der Linden (Ijsboerke-Colner) s.t.
39 Michael Wright (Sonolor-Gitane) s.t.
40 Renato Marchetti (Filotex) s.t.
41 Herman Beyssens (Watney-Maes) s.t.
42 Gonzalo Aja Barquín (KAS-Kaskol) s.t.
43 Gustaaf Hermans (Rokado) s.t.
44 Guy Santy (Bic) s.t.
45 Ghislain Van Landeghem (Merlin Plage-Shimano-Flandria) s.t.
46 Pierino Gavazzi (Jolly Ceramica) s.t.
47 Ferdinand Julien (Sonolor-Gitane) s.t.
48 Alessio Antonini (Jolly Ceramica) s.t.
49 Jos (Joseph) De Schoenmaecker (Molteni) s.t.
50 Giovanni Battaglin (Jolly Ceramica) s.t.
51 Charles Genthon (Magiglace-Juaneda) s.t.
52 Bruno Vicino (Jolly Ceramica) 9'10"
53 Ronny Vanmarcke (M.I.C.-De Gribaldy-Ludo) s.t.
54 Roger Gilson (Rokado) s.t.
55 Jan Krekels (Tim Oil-Novy) s.t.
56 Karl-Heinz Küster (Rokado) s.t.
57 Ludo Delcroix (Molteni) s.t.
58 André Romero (Jobo-Lejeune) s.t.
59 Willy Govaerts (Ijsboerke-Colner) s.t.
60 Alfred Gaida (Rokado) 16'10"
61 Henk Prinsen (Frisol-Flair Plastics) 18'55"