BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1959 World Pro Road Cycling Championships

26th edition: Sunday, August 14, 1959
Zandvoort, Netherlands

World Road Cycling Championships podium history | 1960 edition | 1958 edition |

Paris–Roubaix: The Inside Story

69 riders started, 44 classified finishers.
28 laps of 10.28 km totalling 292 km.
Winner's average speed: 38.88 km/hr

Andre Darrigade

Complete Results:

  1. André Darrigade (France) 7hr 30min 43sec
  2. Michele Gismondi (Italy) s.t.
  3. Noël Foré (Belgium) s.t.
  4. Tom Simpson (Great Britain) s.t.
  5. Diego Ronchini (Italy) s.t.
  6. Albertus Geldermans (Netherlands) s.t.
  7. Friedhelm Fischerkeller (Germany) s.t.
  8. Coen Niesten (Netherlands) s.t.
  9. Jacques Anquetil (France) @ 22sec
  10. Angelo Conterno (Italy) s.t.
  11. Frans Schoubben (Belgium) s.t.
  12. Hans Junkermann (Germany) s.t.
  13. Tadeusz Wierucki (Poland) s.t.
  14. Roger Hassenforder (France) s.t.
  15. Ronald Murray (Australia) s.t.
  16. Michel Dejouhannet (France) s.t.
  17. Jo de Haan (Netherlands) s.t.
  18. Gilbert Desmet (Belgium) s.t.
  19. Rino Benedetti (Italy) s.t.
  20. Piet Damen (Netherlands) s.t.
  21. Armando Pellegrini (Italy) s.t.
  22. Seamus Elliott (Ireland) s.t.
  23. Nino Defilippis (Italy) s.t.
  24. Antonio Suarez (Spain) s.t.
  25. Ercole Baldini (Italy) s.t.
  26. Jo de Roo (Netherlands) s.t.
  27. Piet Oellibrandt (Belgium) s.t.
  28. Rik van Steenbergen (Belgium) s.t.
  29. Joop Captein (Netherlands) s.t.
  30. Léon van Daele (Belgium) s.t.
  31. Dino Bruni (Italy) s.t.
  32. Adolf Christian (Austria) s.t.
  33. Salvador Botella (Spain) s.t.
  34. Roger Baens (Belgium) s.t.
  35. Frans Reitz (Germany) s.t.
  36. Roberto Cazala (France) s.t.
  37. Attilio Moresi (Switzerland) s.t.
  38. Rik van Looy (Belgium) s.t.
  39. Piet Van den Brekel (Netherlands) s.t.
  40. Gérard Saint (France) s.t.
  41. Wilfried Thaler (Austria) s.t.
  42. Lothar Friedrich (Germany) @ 1min 47sec
  43. Gunther Debussmann (Germany) @ 2min 57sec
  44. Fritz Galatti (Switzerland) @ 7min 41sec