BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: it started with a freckle Cycles BiKyle Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2004 Volta ao Algarve (2.3)


Volta ao Algarve podium history

February 18 - February 22: Portugal

Sunday, February 22: 5th and final stage, Parque Das Cidades - Mahao, 178.5 km.

1. Floyd Landis (US Postal) 4hr 40min 18sec
2. Peter Farazijn (Cofidis) @ 5sec
3. Candido Barbosa (LA Pecol) s.t.
4. Victor Hugo Pena (US Postal) s.t.
5. Ezequiel Mosquera (Carvalhelhos) @ 9sec
34. Lance Armstrong (US Postal) @ 1min 2sec

Final GC after Stage 5:

1. Floyd Landis (US Postal) 18hr 3min 4sec. 709.5 km ridden at an average speed of 39.305 km/hr
2. Victor Hugo Pena (US Postal) @ 26sec
3. Candido Barbosa (LA Pecol) @ 45sec
4. Thomas Dekker (Rabobank) @ 52sec
5. Lance Armstrong (US Postal) @ 1min 11sec
6. Pedro Lopes (LA Pecol) @ 1min 32sec
7. Joost Posthuma (Rabobank) @ 1min 34sec
8. Jimmy Engoulvent (Cofidis) @ 1min 35sec
9. David Bernabeu (Milaneza) @ 1min 41sec
10. Martin Garrido (Barbot-Gaia) @ 1min 43sec
11. Joaquin Andrade (Wurth) @ 1min 46sec
12. Michael Barry (US Postal) @ 1min 51sec
13. Stuart O'Grady (Cofidis) @ 1min 53sec
14. Victor Gamito (Milaneza) @ 1min 54sec
15. Ezequiel Mosquera (Carvalhehos) @ 2min 29sec
16. David Garcia (LA Pecol) @ 2min 30sec
17. Michiel Elijzen (Rabobank) @ 2min 32sec
18. Bruno Castanheira (Milaneza) @ 2min 39sec
19. Iker Camano (Euskaltel) @ 2min 43sec
20. Jose Azevedo (US Postal) @ 2min 50sec

Saturday, February 21: Stage 4, Vila Real S. Antonio - Alvia 24 km Individual Time Trial. US Postal takes the podium of the stage and GC to date as well as 5 of the top ten placings. Now, most of the competition Postal beat today are smaller Iberian teams. It is, nonetheless, an impressive display of early season form. Mr. Armstrong and his team have certainly made it clear to the world that if any racers think stopping him from getting a 6th Tour will be easy, that he's over the hill, they should think again.

1. Lance Armstrong (US Postal) 31min 53sec- 45.165 km/hr.
2. Floyd Landis (US Postal) @ 1sec
3. Victor Hugo Pena (US Postal) @ 12sec
4. Thomas Dekker (Rabobank) @ 19sec
5. Jimmy Engoulvent (Cofidis) @ 30sec
7. Michael Barry (US Postal) @ 40sec
10. George Hincapie US Postal) @ 48sec

GC after Stage 4:

1. Lance Armstrong (US Postal) 13hr 22min 55sec
2. Floyd Landis (US Postal) @ 1sec
3. Victor Hugo Pena (US Postal) @ 12sec
4. Thomas Dekker (Rabobank) @ 19sec
5. Jimmy Engoulvent (Cofidis) @ 30sec

Friday, February 20: Stage 3, Lagoa - Lagos, 180 km.

1. Martin Garrido (Barbot) 4hr 36min 59sec
2. Stuart O'Grady (Cofidis) s.t.
3. Candido Barbosa (LA Pecol) s.t.
4. Marc De Maar (Rabobank) s.t.
5. Michael Barry (US Postal) s.t.

GC after Stage 3:

1. Candido Barbosa (LA Pecol) 12hr 50min 37sec
2. Alberto Benito (Antarte) @ 9sec
3. Stuart O'Grady (Cofidis) @ 13sec
4. Martin Garrido (Barbot) @ 15sec
5. Jordi Berenguer (Beppi) @ 18sec

Thursday, February 19: Stage 2, Castro Marim - Portimao, 202 km.

1. Candido Barbosa (LA Pecol) 4hr 46min 13sec
2. Alberto Benito (Antarte) s.t.
3. Stuart O'Grady (Cofidis) s.t.
4. James Vanlandschoot (Relax) s.t.
5. Jukka Vastaranta (Rabobank) s.t.
71. Lance Armstrong (US Postal) s.t.

GC after Stage 2:

1. Candido Barbosa (LA Pecol) 8hr 13min 44sec
2. Alberto Benito (Antarte) @ 3sec
3. Stuart O'Grady (Cofidis) @ 13sec
4. Jordi Berenguer (Beppi) @ 14sec
5. Angel Edo (Milaneza) @ 15sec

Wednesday, February 18: Stage 1, Albufeira - Albufeira, 145 km.

1. Alberto Benito (Antarte) 3hr 27min 50sec
2. Cadido Barbosa (LA Pecol) s.t.
3. Angel Edo (Milaneza) s.t.
4. Stuart O'Grady (Cofidis) s.t.
5. Martin Garrido (Barbot) s.t.
82. Lance Armstrong (US Postal) s.t.

GC after Stage 1:

1. Alberto Benito (Antarte) 3hr 27min 40sec
2. Candido Barbosa (LA Pecol) @ 4sec
3. Jordi Berenguer (Beppi) @ 5sec
4. Angel Edo (Milaneza) @ 6sec
5. Wim de Vocht (Relax) s.t.