BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling historyBikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history
Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2023 La Polynormande (1.1), France

43rd edition: Sunday, August 13, 2023

La Polynormande historic results | 2022 edition

Avranches - St. Martin de Landelles, 169 km

Arnaud De Lie is first across the line. Photo: Cassandra Donne

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Content continues below the ads

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames
Dirty Feet: Early days of the Tour de France

Les Woodland's book Dirty Feet: How the Great Unwashed Created the Tour de France is available in print, Kindle eBook & audiobook versions. To get your copy, just click on the Amazon link on the right.

Weather at the city of Saint-Hilaire-du-Harcouët, of which the finish town of St. Martin de Landelles is a part at 1:45 PM, local time: 21C (71F), mostly cloudy, with the wind from the southwest at 16 km/hr (10 mph). No rain is forecast for the afternoon.

The race: Here's the report from winner Arnaud De Lie's Team Lotto Dstny.

Arnaud De Lie has won La Polynormande (Fra/1.1). The 21-year-old Belgian stayed ahead of the French Valentin Ferron and Jordan Jegat in the sprint. For De Lie it’s his sixth victory of the season.

”I am very happy with this victory”, says De Lie. “Especially after such a tough final with several attacks. I started this morning with a lot of ambition, but it was certainly not an easy task to win today. The escapees went very fast, the team had to pull hard to catch them back, but luckily my teammates did a perfect job.”

“In the final it was still very hard. Especially when Guillaume Martin accelerated uphill, I had a hard time and had to dig deep to keep up. But I managed to stay in the wheel and go for the victory. In the final I had with Cedric Beullens strong teammate by my side. He followed an attack by some riders in the end and I could stay relaxed in the wheel of the others in a second group. Cedric didn't cooperate at the front and I was able to save my strength in the second group. In the end we came very close. I launched my sprint at about 300 meters, passed the other guys and took the win. "

De Lie had a special victory sign. "That was a joke with my teammates. I have a small beard here in France. Yesterday they laughed with me and challenged me. If I won, I would refer to the beard today. And I did," he laughs.

For De Lie it's his sixth victory of the season. Tuesday he will start in Tour of Leuven (Memorial Jef Scherens), again with the ambition to win. 

Content continues below the ads

Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach!

Complete Results:

169 kilometers raced at an average speed of 43.442 km/hr

1 Arnaud De Lie Lotto Dstny 3hr 53min 25sec
2 Valentin Ferron TotalEnergies s.t.
3 Jordan Jegat CIC U-Nantes Atlantique s.t.
4 Paul Lapeira Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
5 Clément Venturini Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
6 Hugo Page Intermarché-Circus-Wanty s.t.
7 Hugo Hofstetter Team Arkéa Samsic s.t.
8 Alexandre Delettre Cofidis s.t.
9 Paul Penhoët Groupama-FDJ s.t.
10 Giacomo Nizzolo Israel-Premier Tech s.t.
11 Guillaume Martin Cofidis s.t.
12 Lennert Teugels Bingoal-WB s.t.
13 Romain Cardis St Michel-Mavic-Auber93 s.t.
14 Julien Simon TotalEnergies s.t.
15 Marco Tizza Bingoal-WB s.t.
16 Jonathan Lastra Cofidis s.t.
17 Maxime Jarnet Van Rysel-Roubaix-Lille Metropole s.t.
18 Harry Birchill Saint Piran s.t.
19 Giovanni Lonardi EOLO-Kometa s.t.
20 Emmanuel Morin CIC U-Nantes Atlantique s.t.
21 Yaël Joalland CIC U-Nantes Atlantique s.t.
22 Tom Van Asbroeck Israel-Premier Tech s.t.
23 Aimé De Gendt Intermarché-Circus-Wanty s.t.
24 Mattéo Vercher TotalEnergies @ 9sec
25 Luca Mozzato Team Arkéa Samsic s.t.
26 Anthony Delaplace Team Arkéa Samsic 0:13
27 Laurence Pithie Groupama-FDJ 0:21
28 Cedric Beullens Lotto Dstny s.t.
29 Matis Louvel Team Arkéa Samsic s.t.
30 Lorenzo Rota Intermarché-Circus-Wanty 0:22
31 Antoine Raugel Ag2r-Citroën 0:39
32 Bastien Tronchon Ag2r-Citroën 1:06
33 Rémy Mertz Bingoal-WB 1:14
34 Bram Welten Groupama-FDJ 1:24
35 Laurent Pichon Team Arkéa Samsic 1:43
36 Finn Crockett Saint Piran 2:11
37 Zeb Kyffin Saint Piran s.t.
38 Ryan Christensen Bolton Equities-Black Spoke s.t.
39 Simone Petilli Intermarché-Circus-Wanty s.t.
40 Colin Savioz Groupama-FDJ s.t.
41 Jérémy Leveau Van Rysel-Roubaix-Lille Metropole s.t.
42 Samuel Leroux Van Rysel-Roubaix-Lille Metropole s.t.
43 Adam Lewis Saint Piran s.t.
44 Flavien Maurelet St Michel-Mavic-Auber93 s.t.
45 Jens Reynders Israel-Premier Tech s.t.
46 Andrea Pietrobon EOLO-Kometa s.t.
47 Théo Delacroix St Michel-Mavic-Auber93 s.t.
48 Taj Jones Israel-Premier Tech s.t.
49 Louka Matthys Bingoal-WB s.t.
50 Mirco Maestri EOLO-Kometa s.t.
51 Davide Bais EOLO-Kometa s.t.
52 Tom Paquot Intermarché-Circus-Wanty s.t.
53 Robin Plamondon CIC U-Nantes Atlantique s.t.
54 Joris Delbove St Michel-Mavic-Auber93 s.t.
55 Eddy Finé Cofidis s.t.
56 Lucas Beneteau St Michel-Mavic-Auber93 s.t.
57 Hugo Toumire Cofidis s.t.
58 Mikaël Cherel Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
59 Thomas Gachignard St Michel-Mavic-Auber93 s.t.
60 Emilien Jeannière TotalEnergies s.t.
61 Fabien Grellier TotalEnergies s.t.
62 Alexis Guerin Bingoal-WB s.t.
63 Matthieu Ladagnous Groupama-FDJ s.t.
64 Jonathan Couanon Nice Métropole-Côte d'Azur s.t.
65 Johan Meens Bingoal-WB s.t.
66 Jean-Louis Le Ny Nice Métropole-Côte d'Azur s.t.
67 Axel Narbonne Zuccarelli Nice Métropole-Côte d'Azur s.t.
68 Maxime Urruty Nice Métropole-Côte d'Azur s.t.
69 Nacer Bouhanni Team Arkéa Samsic s.t.
70 Edouard Bonnefoix Nice Métropole-Côte d'Azur s.t.
71 Rick Zabel Israel-Premier Tech s.t.
72 Tom Mainguenaud Van Rysel-Roubaix-Lille Metropole s.t.
73 Célestin Guillon Van Rysel-Roubaix-Lille Metropole s.t.
74 Kenny Molly Van Rysel-Roubaix-Lille Metropole s.t.
75 Francisco Muñoz EOLO-Kometa s.t.
76 Jelle Vermoote Intermarché-Circus-Wanty s.t.
77 Bradley Symonds Saint Piran s.t.
78 Axel Mariault Cofidis s.t.
79 Mads Würtz Schmidt Israel-Premier Tech s.t.
80 Pierre Barbier CIC U-Nantes Atlantique s.t.
81 Joris Chaussinand Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
82 Simone Bevilacqua EOLO-Kometa s.t.
83 Itamar Einhorn Israel-Premier Tech s.t.
84 Samuele Rivi EOLO-Kometa s.t.
85 Dimitri Peyskens Bingoal-WB s.t.
86 Harry Sweeny Lotto Dstny s.t.
87 Damien Touzé Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
88 Léo Danès CIC U-Nantes Atlantique s.t.
89 Joshua Golliker Groupama-FDJ s.t.
90 Clément Davy Groupama-FDJ s.t.
91 Rory Townsend Bolton Equities-Black Spoke s.t.
92 Thibault Guernalec Team Arkéa Samsic s.t.
93 François Bidard Cofidis s.t.


Content continues below the ads

Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!


2023 Polynormande profile