BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Bicycle History Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1976 Paris - Roubaix

74th edition: Sunday, April 11, 1976

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1977 edition | 1975 edition

270.5 km. 154 starters, 38 classified finishers

Marc Demeyer

Marc Demeyer (center) racing in Italy. Phil Edwards is on his left.

The Race: Roger de Vlaeminck dropped the hammer with 31 kilometers to go and took only four riders with him: Marc Demeyer, Francesco Moser, Hennie Kuiper and Walter Godefroot. Godefroot said he enjoying superb form, but he flatted and never regained the others. De Vlaeminck felt confident and pulled for much of the last 20 kilometers and led out the sprint on the Roubaix velodrome. Moser came around de Vlaeminck and then the Belgian giant, Marc Demeyer went past them both.

Demeyer suffered a fatal heart attack in January of 1982.

Complete Results:

  1. Marc Demeyer (Flandria-Velda) 6hr 37min 41sec. 40.81 km/hr
  2. Francesco Moser (Sanson-Benotto) s.t.
  3. Roger de Vlaeminck (Brooklyn) s.t.
  4. Hennie Kuiper (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
  5. Walter Godefroot (Ijsboerke) @ 1min 36sec
  6. Eddy Merckx (Molteni) s.t.
  7. Jan Raas (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
  8. Jean-Pierre Danguillaume (Peugeot) s.t.
  9. Willy Teirlinck (Gitane-Campagnolo) @ 1min 45sec
  10. Frans Verbeeck (Ijsboerke) s.t.
  11. Piet van Katwijk (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
  12. Georges Pintens (Miko-De Gribaldy) s.t.
  13. Raymond Poulidor (Gan-Mercier) s.t.
  14. Ronald de Witte (Brooklyn) s.t.
  15. Joop Zoetemelk (Gan-Mercier) s.t.
  16. Johan de Muynck (Brooklyn) s.t.
  17. Roger Swerts (Molteni) @ 2min 10sec
  18. Willem Peeters (Ijsboerke) @ 4min 40sec
  19. Ole Ritter (Sanson-Benotto) s.t.
  20. Michel Périn (Gan-Mercier) @ 6min 4sec
  21. Eric Leman (Zoppas-Splendor) @ 6min 1sec
  22. André Gevers (Lejeune-BP) @ 5min 35sec
  23. Dietrich Thurau (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
  24. Joseph Jacobs (Ijsboerke) @ 9min 1sec
  25. Jean-Pierre Baert (Miko-De Gribaldy) s.t.
  26. Régis Ovion (Peugeot) s.t.
  27. Ludo Peeters (Ijsboerke) s.t.
  28. Patrick Béon (Peugeot) @ 9min 33sec
  29. André Corbeau (Jobo-Wolber) s.t.
  30. Guy Sibille (Peugeot) s.t.
  31. René Dillen (Gitane-Campagnolo) @ 12min 6sec
  32. Ferdinand Bracke (Lejeune-BP) @ 14min 24sec
  33. Michel Pollentier (Flandria-Velda) s.t.
  34. Régis Delépine (Gan-Mercier) @ 16min 23sec
  35. Eddy Cael (Flandria-Velda) @ 21min 47sec
  36. André Mollet (Maes Pils-Rokado) s.t.
  37. Willy Abbeloos (Maes Pils-Rokado) s.t.
  38. Bernard Osmont (Lejeune-BP) @ 35min 25sec