BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling historyBikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history
Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1950 Paris - Roubaix

48th edition: Sunday, April 9, 1950

Complete results

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1951 edition | 1949 edition

Tour de France: 2021

Bill and Carol McGann's book The Story of the Tour de France, 2021: The Little Cannibal Dominates is available as an audiobook here. For the Kindle eBook version, just click on the Amazon link on the right.

The race:

The 1950 Paris-Roubaix was 247 km long and raced at an average speed of 39.123 km/hr (24.31 mph).

There were 231 starters and 76 classified finishers.

It was a day of torrential rain.

In the lead were 20 riders when they came to the feed station in Arras. There, Coppi attacked, taking only Maurice Diot for company.

Diot's director Antonin Magne told Diot not to work with Coppi. In response to Magne's orders, with 45 kilometers to go, Coppi went solo, riding a 52 x 15 all the way to Roubaix.

Coppi's 1950 Paris-Roubaix is considered one of the great rides in cycling history.

"...Fausto Coppi, the totally prodigious, has crushed Paris-Roubaix" - Jacques Goddet (French journalist and director of the Tour de France 1936 - 1986).

From the Campangolo web site: "On this day in 1950, Fausto Coppi won his one and only Paris-Roubaix title with an incredible solo attack 45km from home. Before the race Tullio Campagnolo had gifted him a specially evolved version of the Gran Sport derailleur designed to excel on the brutal cobbles of 'The Hell of the North'. Coppi is said to have hugged Tulio at the finish."

A big thank you to race photographer John Pierce (PhotoSport International) for his kindness in both confirming that the photo below is of Coppi & Diot in the 1950 Paris-Roubaix and for supplying the above Campagnolo quote.

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Content continues below the ads

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames


Fausto Coppi

This is Fausto Coppi and Maurice Diot on their break.

Content continues below the ads

Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach!

Complete Results:

  1. Fausto Coppi (Bianchi-Ursus) 6hr 18min 48sec
  2. Paris–Roubaix: The Inside Story
  3. Maurice Diot (Mercier-Hutchinson) @ 2min 45sec
  4. Fiorenzo Magni (Wilier-Triestina) @ 5min 24sec
  5. Charles Coste (Peugeot-Dunlop) s.t.
  6. Gino Sciardis @ 7min 7sec
  7. Pierre Molinéris @ 7min 40sec
  8. André Declercq @ 7min 54sec
  9. Georges Meunier (La Perle-Hutchinson) s.t.
  10. Georges Claes s.t.
  11. Marcel Kint s.t.
  12. Edward Van Dyck s.t.
  13. Emmanuel Thoma (Ruche-Dunlop) s.t.
  14. André Rosseel s.t.
  15. Jacques-Jésus Moujica (Mercier-A. Magne) s.t.
  16. Louison Bobet (Stella-Dunlop) s.t.
  17. Rik van Steenbergen (Mercier-Hutchinson) @ 8min 48sec
  18. Oreste Conte (Bianchi-Ursus) @ 8min 55sec
  19. Philippe Martineau (Dilecta-Wolber) @ 9min 15sec
  20. Adolphe Braeckeveldt @ 9min 18sec
  21. Marcel De Mulder @ 11min 6sec
  22. Alphonse Devreese (Peugeot-Dunlop) s.t.
  23. Ettore Milano (Bianchi-Ursus) s.t.
  24. Maurice Bloome s.t.
  25. Angelo Menon (France Sport-Dunlop) s.t.
  26. Edouard Klabinski (Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
  27. Albert Sercu (Bertin-Wolber) s.t.
  28. Emile Vanderveken (Starnord-Wolber) s.t.
  29. Albert Ramon (Bertin-Wolber) s.t.
  30. Albert Dubuisson (Rochet-Dunlop) s.t.
  31. Alfredo Pasotti @ 11min 47sec
  32. Nello Lauredi (Helyett-Hutchinson) s.t.
  33. Antonio Bevilacqua (Wilier-Triestina) @ 13min1sec
  34. Roger Decock (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  35. Antonin Rolland (Rhonson-Dunlop) @ 13min 22sec
  36. Ferdy Kübler (Tebag) s.t.
  37. Roger Queugnet (Peugeot-Dunlop) s.t.
  38. Eloi Tassin (Dilecta-Wolber) s.t.
  39. René Walschot (Dilecta-Wolber) s.t.
  40. Henk De Hoog s.t.
  41. Pino Cerami s.t.
  42. Fermo Camellini (Elvish-Fontan-Wolber) s.t.
  43. Raphaël Géminiani (Métropole-Dunlop) s.t.
  44. José Beyaert (Helyett-Hutchinson) s.t.
  45. Jean Rey s.t.
  46. Roger Duquesne s.t.
  47. Wim Van Est (Garin-Wolber) s.t.
  48. Jean Bogaerts s.t.
  49. Serge Blusson @ 13min 56sec
  50. Maurice De Muer (Peugeot-Dunlop) @ 14min 30sec
  51. Jean Brun (Cilo) @ 15min 31sec
  52. André Blin @ 16min 51sec
  53. Robert Bonnaventure @ 16min 57sec
  54. Etienne Tahon s.t.
  55. Frans Gielen s.t.
  56. Julien Van Dycke s.t.
  57. Elias Walckiers s.t.
  58. Roger De Corte s.t.
  59. Albert Decin s.t.
  60. Marcel Molines @ 18min 26sec
  61. Jean Lauk s.t.
  62. Henri Van Kerkhove s.t.
  63. Marino Contarin @ 20min 55sec
  64. Antoine Frankowski @ 21min 42sec
  65. Jean Malléjac @ 21min45sec
  66. Ange Le Strat @ 22min 50sec
  67. René Janssens @ 23min 19sec
  68. Roger Roux @ 25min 7sec
  69. Jean Engels @ 27min 38sec
  70. Roger Prévotal @ 28min 38sec
  71. Paul Giacomini @ 31min 46sec
  72. Julien Janssens s.t.
  73. Eugène Van Roosbroeck s.t.
  74. François Bussemey s.t.
  75. Emile Teisseire s.t.
  76. Serge Meneghetti @ 32min 12sec
  77. Roger Buchonnet s.t.

Content continues below the ads

Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!