BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1968 Omloop Het Volk ( HC)

This race is now "Het Nieuwsblad"

23rd edition: March 2, 1968

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad podium history | 1967 edition | 1969 edition

Gent - Gent, 193 km / 40.278 km/hr
139 starters / 100 classified finishers

Herman van Springel

1968 Omloop Het Volk winner Herman van Springel in a 1971 photo

Complete Results:

1 Herman Van Springel  Dr. Mann-Grundig 4hr 47min 30sec
2 Rolf Wolfshohl  Bic @ 4sec
3 Bernard Vandekerkhove  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
4 Walter Godefroot  Flandria-De Clerck-Krüger @ 6sec
5 Edward Sels  Bic s.t.
6 Daniel Van Ryckeghem  Dr. Mann-Grundig s.t.
7 Willy Vekemans  Goldor-Gerka s.t.
8 Willy Planckaert  Smiths s.t.
9 Alfons De Bal  Okay-Diamant s.t.
10 Willy Bocklant  Pull-Over Centrale-Motte-Novy s.t.
11 Jan Janssen  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
12 Johan 'Jo' De Roo  Willem II-Gazelle s.t.
13 Etienne Buysse  Pull-Over Centrale-Motte-Novy s.t.
14 Cees Zoontjens  Caballero s.t.
15 Fernand Hermie  Goldor-Gerka s.t.
16 René De L'arbre  Okay-Diamant s.t.
17 Harry Steevens  Willem II-Gazelle s.t.
18 Noël De Pauw  Faema s.t.
19 Willy Donie  Flandria-De Clerck-Krüger s.t.
20 Emile Bodart  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
21 Herman Flabat  Pull-Over Centrale-Motte-Novy @ 45sec
22 José Catieau  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune @ 1min 0sec
23 Antoine Houbrechts  Flandria-De Clerck-Krüger s.t.
24 Herman Van Loo  Willem II-Gazelle 6'00''
25 Raymond Steegmans  Goldor-Gerka 6'20''
26 Joseph Spruyt  Faema s.t.
27 Dignus Kosten  Caballero s.t.
28 Gustaaf De Smet  Pull-Over Centrale-Motte-Novy s.t.
29 André Planckaert  Goldor-Gerka s.t.
30 Roger Blockx  Flandria-De Clerck-Krüger s.t.
31 Etienne Sonck  Goldor-Gerka s.t.
32 Gianni Marcarini  Frimatic-Wolber-De Gribaldy s.t.
33 Tony Daelemans  Goldor-Gerka s.t.
34 Noël Fore  Flandria-De Clerck-Krüger s.t.
35 Eddy De Sitter  Pull-Over Centrale-Motte-Novy s.t.
36 Willy Derboven  Willem II-Gazelle s.t.
37 Jan Tummers  Willem II-Gazelle s.t.
38 Jan Van Der Horst  Caballero s.t.
39 Michel Jacquemin  Dr. Mann-Grundig s.t.
40 Hugo Hellemans  Dr. Mann-Grundig s.t.
41 Gilbert Wuytack  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
42 Frans Brands  Smiths s.t.
43 Benoni Beheyt  Pull-Over Centrale-Motte-Novy s.t.
44 Jacques Guiot  Bic s.t.
45 Philippe Crépel  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
46 René Corthout  Smiths s.t.
47 Jan Brusselmans  Smiths s.t.
48 Roland Van De Rijse  Smiths s.t.
49 Georges Pintens  Dr. Mann-Grundig s.t.
50 Arnold Kloosterman  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
51 Albert Van Vlierberghe  Smiths s.t.
52 Jan Cools  Goldor-Gerka s.t.
53 Lucien Willekens  Okay-Diamant s.t.
54 Marc Michiels  Frimatic-Wolber-De Gribaldy s.t.
55 Edouard Weckx  Goldor-Gerka s.t.
56 Jean Monteyne  Flandria-De Clerck-Krüger s.t.
57 Willy Van Neste  Bic s.t.
58 Jef Drummen  Caballero s.t.
59 Johnny Schleck  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
60 Edouard Delberghe  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
61 Jan Harings  Caballero s.t.
62 Leopold Van Den Neste  Pull-Over Centrale-Motte-Novy s.t.
63 Jean-Marie Leblanc  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
64 Julien Stevens  Smiths s.t.
65 André Delaere  Flandria-De Clerck-Krüger s.t.
66 André Hendryckx  Pull-Over Centrale-Motte-Novy s.t.
67 Pierre Vanekan  Okay-Diamant s.t.
68 Henk Vogels  Caballero s.t.
69 Jean-marie Gorez  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
70 Henk Peters  Caballero s.t.
71 Eric Verstraete  Etalo-Siriki s.t.
72 Roger Claessen  Goldor-Gerka s.t.
73 Freddy Vanborm  Etalo-Siriki s.t.
74 André Chainniaux  Okay-Diamant s.t.
75 Jean-claude Lefebvre  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
76 Théo Mertens  Dr. Mann-Grundig s.t.
77 Ludo Vandromme  Flandria-De Clerck-Krüger s.t.
78 Hubert Criel  Pull-Over Centrale-Motte-Novy s.t.
79 Alfons Cools  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
80 Walter Ricci  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
81 Pasquale De Luca  Okay-Diamant s.t.
82 Marinus Wagtmans  Willem II-Gazelle s.t.
83 Cees Haast  Bic s.t.
84 John Schepers  Caballero s.t.
85 Marcel Seurin  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
86 Julien Delocht  Faema s.t.
87 Michael Wright  Bic s.t.
88 Jos Boons  Dr. Mann-Grundig s.t.
89 Wilfried David  Flandria-De Clerck-Krüger s.t.
90 Joseph Huysmans  Dr. Mann-Grundig s.t.
91 Harm Ottenbros  Willem II-Gazelle s.t.
92 Cor Schuuring  Caballero s.t.
93 Willy In't Ven  Dr. Mann-Grundig s.t.
94 Arie Den Hartog  Bic s.t.
95 Roger Rosiers  Dr. Mann-Grundig s.t.
96 Guy Vallee  Okay-Diamant s.t.
97 Wim Schepers  Caballero s.t.
98 Eddy Beugels  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
99 Jean-Pierre Wattiez  Pull-Over Centrale-Motte-Novy s.t.
100 Gérard Vianen  Caballero s.t.