BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1998 HEW Cyclassics (World Cup Round 7)

3rd edition: August 15, 1998

Vatenfall (formerly HEW) Cyclassics podium history | 1997 edition | 1999 edition

253 km / 41.135 km/hr
165 Starters / 99 classified finishers

Hamburg - Hamburg, Germany

Leon van Bon

Winner Leon van Bon in 2015

The Race: As reported by the UCI - After being one of the most aggressive riders in the decisive breakaway, van Bon led out the 13 rider sprint. He hit the front 400 meters from the finish and stayed there all the way to the line. UCI World Cup leader Michele Bartoli  was on his wheel and tried to come past but the Dutchman was flying and won by more than a bike length. Bartoli took second, with Ludo Dierckxens third.

Complete Results:

1 Leon van Bon (Rabobank) 6hr 9min 28sec
2 Michele Bartoli (Asics) s.t.
3 Ludo Dierckxsens (Lotto-Mobistar) s.t.
4 Salvatore Commesso (Saeco-Cannondale) s.t.
5 Nico Mattan (Mapei-Bricobi) s.t.
6 Christophe Mengin (La Française des Jeux) s.t.
7 Michael Rich (Saeco-Cannondale) s.t.
8 Christian Wegmann (Die Continentale) s.t.
9 Jan Ullrich (Telekom) s.t.
10 Paul Van Hyfte (Lotto-Mobistar) s.t.
11 Cristiano Colleoni (Polti) s.t.
12 Paolo Bettini (Asics) @ 9sec
13 Elio Aggiano (Vitalicio Seguros) @ 14sec
14 Fabio Roscioli (Asics) @ 2min 39sec
15 Jens Heppner (Telekom) @ 2min 41sec
16 Andrea Peron (La Française des Jeux) s.t.
17 Ole Sigurd Simensen (Agro-Adler-Brandenburg) s.t.
18 René Jørgensen (Team Home Jack & Jones) s.t.
19 Cyril Saugrain (Cofidis) @ 6min 31sec
20 Fabrizio Guidi (Polti) @ 6min 33sec
21 Gerrit Glomser (Scrigno-Gaerne) @ 7min 37sec
22 Erik Zabel (Telekom) @ 8min 23sec
23 Danilo Hondo (Agro-Adler-Brandenburg) s.t.
24 Jo Planckaert (Lotto-Mobistar) s.t.
25 Danny Jonasson (Rabobank) s.t.
26 Martin Rittsel (Cantina Tollo-Alexia Alluminio) s.t.
27 Adriano Baffi (Ballan) s.t.
28 Stuart O'Grady (Crédit Agricole) s.t.
29 Andrei Tchmil (Lotto-Mobistar) s.t.
30 Christian Andersen (Team Home Jack & Jones) s.t.
31 Arvis Piziks (Team Home Jack & Jones) s.t.
32 Andreas Klier (Nürnberger Versicherung) s.t.
33 Andrea Ferrigato (Vitalicio Seguros) s.t.
34 Emmanuel Magnien (La Française des Jeux) s.t.
35 Ralf Grabsch (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
36 Gabriele Balducci (Scrigno-Gaerne) s.t.
37 Björn Glasner (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
38 Max Van Heeswijk (Rabobank) s.t.
39 Rolf Aldag (Telekom) s.t.
40 Raymond Meijs (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
41 Andreas Kappes (Gerolsteiner) s.t.
42 François Simon (Crédit Agricole) s.t.
43 Massimiliano Mori (Saeco-Cannondale) s.t.
44 Lars Michaelsen (TVM-Farm Frites) s.t.
45 Chris Peers (Lotto-Mobistar) s.t.
46 Lauri Aus (Casino) s.t.
47 Stéphane Barthe (Casino) s.t.
48 Scott McGrory (Die Continentale) s.t.
49 Andrea Tafi (Mapei-Bricobi) s.t.
50 Heinrich Trumheller (Die Continentale) s.t.
51 Marco Bellini (Cantina Tollo-Alexia Alluminio) s.t.
52 Pascal Chanteur (Casino) s.t.
53 David Tani (Asics) s.t.
54 George Hincapie (US Postal Service) s.t.
55 Christophe Agnolutto (Casino) s.t.
56 André Korff (Festina-Lotus) s.t.
57 Jörn Reuss (Agro-Adler-Brandenburg) s.t.
58 Bert Grabsch (Agro-Adler-Brandenburg) s.t.
59 Martin Hvastija (Cantina Tollo-Alexia Alluminio) s.t.
60 Grischa Niermann (Die Continentale) s.t.
61 Inigo Gonzalez (Vitalicio Seguros) s.t.
62 Francisco Benitez (Vitalicio Seguros) s.t.
63 Volker Ordowski (Agro-Adler-Brandenburg) s.t.
64 Peter Farazijn (Lotto-Mobistar) s.t.
65 Marc Wauters (Rabobank) s.t.
66 Maarten Den Bakker (Rabobank) s.t.
67 Fabio Malberti (Asics) s.t.
68 Maximilian Sciandri (La Française des Jeux) s.t.
69 Frankie Andreu (US Postal Service) s.t.
70 Francesco Casagrande (Cofidis) s.t.
71 Christian Henn (Telekom) s.t.
72 Axel Merckx (Polti) s.t.
73 Stephan Gottschling (Agro-Adler-Brandenburg) s.t.
74 Peter Meinert Nielsen (US Postal Service) s.t.
75 Davide Rebellin (Polti) s.t.
76 Jens Voigt (Crédit Agricole) s.t.
77 Franco Ballerini (Mapei-Bricobi) s.t.
78 Felix Manuel Garcia (Festina-Lotus) s.t.
79 Mirko Celestino (Polti) s.t.
80 David Plaza Romero (Cofidis) s.t.
81 Gines Salmeron (Vitalicio Seguros) s.t.
82 Michael Rosborg (Team Home Jack & Jones) s.t.
83 Alessandro Bertolini (Cofidis) s.t.
84 Filippo Simeoni (Asics) s.t.
85 Rolf Sørensen (Rabobank) s.t.
86 Daniele Nardello (Mapei-Bricobi) s.t.
87 Maurizio Fondriest (Cofidis) s.t.
88 Servais Knaven (TVM-Farm Frites) s.t.
89 Alexandre Gontchenkov (Ballan) s.t.
90 Tristan Hoffman (TVM-Farm Frites) s.t.
91 Henk Vogels (Crédit Agricole) s.t.
92 Peter Van Petegem (TVM-Farm Frites) s.t.
93 Rolf Järmann (Casino) s.t.
94 Roland Meier (Cofidis) s.t.
95 Alberto Ongarato (Ballan) s.t.
96 Evgeni Berzin (La Française des Jeux) s.t.
97 Chris Horner (La Française des Jeux) s.t.
98 Alberto Elli (Casino) s.t.
99 Luca Scinto (Asics) s.t.