BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italit, volume 1 Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1964 Tour of Flanders - Ronde van Vlaanderen

48th edition: Sunday, April 5, 1964

Podium history of the Tour of Flanders | 1965 edition | 1963 edition

236 km (146.6 miles). 119 starters, 51 classified finishers

Rudi Altig won the 48th Tour of Flanders after a 60 kilometer solo breakaway. Incredible!

Ascents: Kwaremont, Kruisberg, Edelareberg, Valkenberg, Kasteelstraat, Groteberge

Rudi Altig

Rudi Altig

Complete results:

  1. Rudi Altig (St. Raphaël-Gitane-Dunlop) 5hr 45min 27sec. 40.990 km/hr
  2. Benoni Beheyt (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) @ 4min 5sec
  3. Jo De Roo (St. Raphaël-Gitane-Dunlop) s.t.
  4. Edward Sels (Solo-Superia) s.t.
  5. Georges van Coningsloo (Peugeot-BP-Englebert) s.t.
  6. Arthur de Cabooter (Solo-Superia) s.t.
  7. Jozef Verachtert (Labo-Dr. Mann) s.t.
  8. Gustaaf Desmet (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  9. Gilbert Desmet 1 (Wiel's-Groene leeuw) s.t.
  10. Rik van Looy (Solo-Superia) s.t.
  11. Jan Janssen (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  12. Peter Post (Flandria-Romeo) s.t.
  13. Vito Taccone (Salvarani) s.t.
  14. Theo Mertens (Libertas) s.t.
  15. Huub Zilverberg (Flandria-Romeo) s.t.
  16. Norbert Kerckhove (Labo-Dr. Mann) s.t.
  17. Edgard Sorgeloos (Solo-Superia) s.t.
  18. Jan Lauwers (Flandria-Romeo) s.t.
  19. Emile Daems (Peugeot-BP-Englebert) s.t.
  20. Diego Ronchini (Cynar) s.t.
  21. Martin Vandenbossche (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  22. José Dewit s.t.
  23. Josef Wouters (Libertas) s.t.
  24. Jean-Baptiste Claes (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  25. Bas Maliepaard (St. Raphaël-Gitane-Dunlop) s.t.
  26. Edouard Delberghe (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  27. Jozef Planckaert (Flandria-Romeo) s.t.
  28. Noël Foré (Flandria-Romeo) s.t.
  29. Frans Brands (Flandria-Romeo) s.t.
  30. Raymond Poulidor (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  31. Jean-Claude Lebaube (St. Raphaël-Gitane-Dunlop) s.t.
  32. Willy Monty (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejaune) s.t.
  33. Carmine Preziosi (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  34. Roger Deconnick (Libertas) s.t.
  35. Victor van Schil (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  36. François Mahé (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  37. Arnaldo Pambianco (Salvarani) s.t.
  38. Willy Bocklant (Flandria-Romeo) s.t.
  39. Marcel Ongenae (Flandria-Romeo) s.t.
  40. Gilbert Desmet s.t.
  41. Armand Desmet (Solo-Superia) s.t.
  42. Hugo Scrayen (Solo-Superia) s.t.
  43. Jean Stablinski (St. Raphaël-Gitane-Dunlop) s.t.
  44. Pierre Everaert (St. Raphaël-Gitane-Dunlop) s.t.
  45. Joseph Groussard (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  46. André Cloarec (Bertin-Porter 39-Milremo) s.t.
  47. Urbain de Brauwer (Libertas) s.t.
  48. Paul Vermeulen (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  49. Albert van d'Huynslager (Libertas) s.t.
  50. Ludo Janssens (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  51. Willy Altig (St. Raphaël-Gitane-Dunlop) s.t.