BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italit, volume 1 Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1963 Tour of Flanders - Ronde van Vlaanderen

47th edition: Sunday, March 31, 1963

Podium history of the Tour of Flanders | 1964 edition | 1962 edition

250 km. 133 starters, 37 classified finishers

Ascents: Kwaremont, Kruisberg, Edelareberg, Valkenberg, Kasteelstraat, Groteberge

Norel Fore

Noël Foré

Complete results:

  1. Noël Foré (Faema-Flandria) 6hr 8min 42sec. 40.68 km/hr
  2. Frans Melckenbeeck (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  3. Tom Simpson (Peugeot-BP) s.t.
  4. Willy Vannitsen (Peugeot-BP) @ 20sec
  5. Joseph Wouters (Solo-Terrot-Englebert) s.t.
  6. Rik van Looy (GBC-Libertas) s.t.
  7. Michel van Aerde (Solo-Terrot-Englebert) s.t.
  8. Emile Daems (Peugeot-BP) s.t.
  9. Raymond Poulidor (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  10. Jo De Roo (St. Raphaël-Géminiani-Dunlop) s.t.
  11. Rudi Altig (St. Raphaël-Géminiani-Dunlop) s.t.
  12. Frans Demulder (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) @ 1min 10sec
  13. Jan Janssen (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  14. Benoni Beheyt (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) @ 1min 25sec
  15. Norbert Kerckhove (Dr. Mann) s.t.
  16. André Darrigade (Margnat-Paloma-Dunlop) s.t.
  17. Robert Vandecaveye (Faema-Flandria) s.t.
  18. Joseph Groussard (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  19. Gilbert Desmet s.t.
  20. Jean-Baptiste Claes (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  21. Hans Junkermann (Wiel's-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  22. Roger de Breucker (Solo-Terrot-Englebert) s.t.
  23. Théo Nijs s.t.
  24. André Noyelle (Dr. Mann) s.t.
  25. Ludo Janssen (GBC-Libertas) s.t.
  26. Roger Deconinck (Dr. Mann) s.t.
  27. François Mahé (Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune) s.t.
  28. Josef Planckaert (Faema-Flandria) s.t.
  29. Huub Zilverberg (GBC-Libertas) s.t.
  30. Albertus Geldermans (St. Raphaël-Géminiani-Dunlop) s.t.
  31. Louis Proost (Solo-Yerrot-Englebert) s.t.
  32. Frans Aerenhouts (GBC-Libertas) s.t.
  33. André van Houtven (Dossche Sport-Theugels-Robur) s.t.
  34. Bas Maliepaard (St. Raphaël-Géminiani-Dunlop) s.t.
  35. Luis Otano (Margnat-Paloma-Dunlop) s.t.
  36. Rolf Wolfshohl (Peugeot-BP) s.t.
  37. Piet Van Est (Dr. Mann) s.t.