BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1978 La Flèche Wallonne

42nd Edition: April 20, 1978

La Flèche Wallonne podium history | 1977 edition | 1979 edition

Verviers - Verviers,
Cycling's 50 Triumphs and Tragedies223 km, 37.55 km/hr
160 starters, 55 classified finishers

Michel Laurent

1978 Flèche Wallone winner Michel Laurent

Complete results:

1 Michel Laurent (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) 5hr 56min 22sec
2 Gianbattista Baronchelli (SCIC-Bottecchia) s.t.
3 Dietrich Thurau (Ijsboerke-Gios) s.t.
4 Gerrie Knetemann (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
5 Michel Pollentier (Flandria-Velda-Lano) s.t.
6 Hennie Kuiper (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
7 Joop Zoetemelk (Miko-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
8 Henk Lubberding (TI - Raleigh) @ 1min 15sec
9 Sven-Åke Nilsson (Miko-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
10 Joseph Bruyère (C&A) 1'50"
11 Ludo Peeters (Ijsboerke-Gios) 6'05"
12 Jean-luc Vandenbroucke (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) 7'18"
13 René Martens (C&A) 7'28"
14 Johan Van Der Velde (TI-Raleigh) 8'10"
15 Herman Van Springel (Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia) 8'22"
16 Eric Jacques (Mini Flat-Boule d'Or-Colnago) s.t.
17 Aldo Donadello (Fiorella-Mocassini-Citroen) s.t.
18 Jacques Esclassan (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) 8'47"
19 Piet Van Katwijk (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
20 Ferdi Van Den Haute (Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia) s.t.
21 Walter Planckaert (C&A) s.t.
22 Eddy Schepers (C&A) s.t.
23 Bernard Bourreau (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
24 André Dierickx (Ijsboerke-Gios) s.t.
25 Walter Riccomi (SCIC-Bottecchia) s.t.
26 Carmelo Barone (Fiorella-Mocassini-Citroen) s.t.
27 Ghislain Van Landeghem (Mini Flat-Boule d'Or-Colnago) s.t.
28 Christian Seznec (Miko - Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
29 Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
30 Rudy Colman (Mini Flat-Boule d'Or-Colnago) s.t.
31 Jan Raas (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
32 Ferdinand Bracke (Old Lords-Splendor-KSB) s.t.
33 Gregor Braun (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
34 Ludo Delcroix (Ijsboerke-Gios) s.t.
35 Walter Godefroot (Ijsboerke-Gios) s.t.
36 Luciano Rossignoli (Fiorella-Mocassini-Citroen) s.t.
37 Roland Salm (Flandria-Velda-Lano) s.t.
38 Marc Demeyer (Flandria-Velda-Lano) 9'38"
39 Meinrad Vögele (Willora-Piz Buin) s.t.
40 Lieven Malfait (Avia-Groene Leeuw) 11'07"
41 René Bittinger (Flandria-Velda-Lano) s.t.
42 Hans Langerijs (Jet Star Jeans) 12'01"
43 Jean Van Der Stappen 15'20"
44 Jean-Philippe Vandenbrande (Safir-Beyers-Ludo) s.t.
45 Patrick Lefevere (Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia) s.t.
46 Ludo Loos (C&A) s.t.
47 Joseph Borguet (Avia-Groene Leeuw) 17'
48 Johan Van Uffel (Old Lords-Splendor-KSB) 17'55"
49 Roberto Puttini (Willora-Piz Buin) s.t.
50 Gerhard Schönbacher (Mini Flat-Boule d'Or-Colnago) s.t.
51 Jorgen Marcussen (Avia-Groene Leeuw) s.t.
52 Bernt Johansson (Fiorella-Mocassini-Citroen) s.t.
53 Marcel Laurens (C&A) s.t.
54 Adri Jos Schipper (Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia) s.t.
55 Fons Van Katwijk (Marc-Zeepcentrale-Superia) s.t.