BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling historyBikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history
Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Tour de France Competitions
Points, KOM, Young Rider, Team GC

Cycling Heroes: The Golden Years

Les Woodland's book Cycling Heroes: The Golden Years is available as an audiobook here. For the print and kindle eBook versions, just click on the Amazon link on the right.

The Tour de France has other competitions going on besides the Yellow Jersey for lowest elapsed time.

King of the Mountains: The first award for the best climber was in 1933. The famous Polka-Dot jersey was worn by Lucien van Impe in 1975.

Points: The green jersey is awarded to the rider with the lowest accumulated total placings. A sprinter usually wins this jersey.

Young Rider: The winner wears a white jersey. It is awarded to the best rider under 25 years old.

Team Classification: Awarded to the team with the lowest cumulative time based on each day's top three finishing riders from each team.

Tour de France Winners, Podium and Times as well as links to all other Tour de France information on our site

Tour statistics (dates, distances, etc.)

Tour de France prizes, winners and total prize pools, by year

From 1930 to 1961 plus 1967 and 1968, national and regional rather than trade teams competed

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Content continues below the ads

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames





Young Rider

Winning Team

1930       France
1931       Belgium
1932       Italy
1933 Vincente Trueba     France
1934 Rene Vietto     France
1935 Felicien Vervaecke     Belgium
1936 Julien Berrendero     Belgium
1937 Felicien Vervaecke     France
1938 Gino Bartali     Belgium
1939 Sylvere Maes     Belgium
1947 Pierre Brambilla     Italy
1948 Gino Bartali     Belgium
1949 Fausto Coppi     Italy
1950 Louison Bobet     Belgium
1951 Raphael Geminiani     France
1952 Fausto Coppi     Italy
1953 Jesus Loroño Fritz Schaer   Holland
1954 Federico Bahamontes Ferdy Kubler   Switzerland
1955 Charly Gaul Stan Ockers   France
1956 Charly Gaul Stan Ockers   Belgium
1957 Gastone Nencini Jean Forestier   France
1958 Federico Bahamontes Jean Graczyck   Belgium
1959 Federico Bahamontes Andre Darrigade   Belgium
1960 Imerio Massignan Jean Graczyck   France
1961 Imerio Massignan Andre Darrigade   France
1962 Federico Bahamontes Rudi Altig   St-Raphael
1963 Federico Bahamontes Rik van Looy   St-Raphael
1964 Federico Bahamontes Jan Janssen   Pelforth
1965 Julio Jimenez Jan Janssen   Kas
1966 Julio Jimenez Willy Planckaert   Kas
1967 Julio Jimenez Jan Janssen   France
1968 Aurelio Gonzalez Franco Bitossi   Spain
1969 Eddy Merckx Eddy Merckx   Faema


Content continues below the ads

Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach!


1970 Eddy Merckx Walter Godefroot   Faemino
1971 Lucien van Impe Eddy Merckx   Bic
1972 Lucien van Impe Eddy Merckx   GAN
1973 Pedro Torres Herman van Springel   Bic
1974 Domingo Perurena Patrick Sercu   Kas
1975 Lucien van Impe Rik van Linden Francesco Moser GAN
1976 Giancarlo Bellini Freddy Maertens Enrique Martinez-Heredia Kas
1977 Lucien van Impe Jacques Esclasson Dietrich Thurau TI-Raleigh
1978 Mariano Marinez Freddy Maertens Henk Lubberding Miko
1979 Giovanni Battaglin Bernard Hinault Jean-Rene Bernadeau Renault
1980 Raymond Martin Rudy Pevenage Johan Vandervelde Miko
1981 Lucien van Impe Freddy Maertens Peter Winnen Peugeot
1982 Bernard Vallet Sean Kelly Phil Anderson Co-Op
1983 Lucien van Impe Sean Kelly Laurent Fignon TI-Raleigh
1984 Robert Millar Frank Hoste Greg LeMond Renault
1985 Luis Herrera Sean Kelly Fabio Parra La Vie Claire
1986 Bernard Hinault Eric Vanderaerden Andy Hampsten La Vie Claire
1987 Luis Herrera Jean-Paul van Poppel Raul Alcala System U
1988 Steven Rooks Eddy Planckaert Eric Breukink PDM
1989 Gert-Jan Theunisse Sean Kelly Fabrice Philippot PDM
1990 Thierry Claveyrolat Olaf Ludwig Gilles Delion Z
1991 Claudio Chiappucci Djamolidine Abdoujaparov Alvaro Mejia Banesto
1992 Claudio Chiappucci Laurent Jalabert Eddy Bouwmans Carrera
1993 Tony Rominger Djamolidine Abdoujaparov Antonio Martin Carrera
1994 Richard Virenque Djamolidine Abdoujaparov Marco Pantani Festina
1995 Richard Virenque Laurent Jalabert Marco Pantani ONCE
1996 Richard Virenque Erik Zabel Jan Ullrich Festina
1997 Richard Virenque Erik Zabel Jan Ullrich Telekom
1998 Christophe Rinero Erik Zabel Jan Ullrich Cofidis
1999 Richard Virenque Erik Zabel Benoit Salamon Banesto
2000 Santiago Botero Erik Zabel Francisco Mancebo Kelme
2001 Laurent Jalabert Erik Zabel Oscar Sevilla Kelme
2002 Laurent Jalabert Robbie McEwen Ivan Basso ONCE
2003 Richard Virenque Baden Cooke Denis Menchov CSC
2004 Richard Virenque Robbie McEwen Vladimir Karpets T-Mobile
2005  Michael Rasmussen Thor Hushovd Yaroslav Popovych T-Mobile
2006  Michael Rasmussen Robbie McEwen Damiano Cunego  T-Mobile
2007 Mauricio Soler Tom Boonen Alberto Contador Discovery
2008 Bernhard Kohl
(Kohl DQ'd after dope positive, no replacement named)
Oscar Freire Andy Schleck CSC-Saxo Bank
2009 Franco Pellizotti Thor Hushovd Andy Schleck Astana
2010 Anthony Charteau Alessandro Petacchi Andy Schleck Radio Shack
2011 Samuel Sanchez Mark Cavendish Pierre Rolland Garmin-Cervelo
2012 Thomas Voeckler Peter Sagan Tejay Van Garderen Radio Shack-Nissan
2013 KOM: Nairo Quintana Points: Peter Sagan Youth: Nairo Quintana Team: Saxo-Tinkoff
2014 Rafal Majka Peter Sagan Thibaut Pinot Ag2r-La Mondiale
2015 Christopher Froome Peter Sagan Nairo Quintana Movistar
2016 Rafal Majka Peter Sagan Adam Yates Movistar
2017 KOM: Warren Barguil Points: Michael Matthews Youth: Simon Yates Team Sky
2018 Julian Alaphilippe Peter Sagan Pierre Roger Latour Movistar
2019 KOM: Romain Bardet Points: Peter Sagan Youth: Egan Bernal Movistar
2020 KOM: Tadej Pogacar Points: Sam Bennett Youth: Tadej Pogacar Movistar
2021 KOM: Tadej Pogacar Points: Mark Cavendish Youth: Tadej Pogacar Bahrain Victorious
2022 KOM: Jonas Vingegaard Points: Wout van Aert Youth: Tadej Pogacar INEOS Grenadiers
2023 KOM: Giulio Ciccone Points: Jasper Philipsen Youth: Tadej Pogacar Jumbo-Visma


Content continues below the ads

Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!