BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2010 Tour of Flanders - Ronde van Vlaanderen
(Pro Tour)

94th edition: Sunday, April 4, 2010

Podium history of the Tour of Flanders | 2009 edition | 2011 edition
Race map and elevation guide | Photos

Tour of Flanders, the Inside Story

Brugge - Meerbeke, 262 km, 15 hills starting with Den Ast at km 131.

climbsAscents: Den Ast, Kluisberg, Knokteberg, Oude Kwaremont, Paterberg, Koppenberg, Taaienberg, Steenbeekdries, Eikenberg, Molenberg, Leberg, Berendries, Tenbosse, Muur van Geraardsbergen, Bosberg

The Race: Fabian Cancellara and Tom Boonen broke away on the Molenberg climb while Philippe Gilbert and Bjorn Leukemans made a valiant chase. With about 18 km to go Cancellara lit the jets on the steepest part of the Kapelmuur in Geraardsbergen. Boonen could not answer and Cancellara carved an ever-growing lead all the way to the finish, crossing the line with 1 minute 15 seconds in hand.

Complete Results:

198 starters, 95 classified finsihers

Cancellara wins Flanders

    Story of the Giro d'Italia, volume 1
  1. Fabian Cancellara (Saxo) 6hr 25min 56sec. 40.732 km/hr
  2. Tom Boonen (Quick Step) @ 1min 15sec
  3. Philippe Gilbert (Omega Pharma-Lotto) @ 2min 11sec
  4. Bjorn Leukemans (Vacansoleil) @ 2min 15sec
  5. Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Transitions) @ 2min 35sec
  6. George Hincapie (BMC) s.t.
  7. Roger Hammond (Cervelo) s.t.
  8. Maxim Iglinsky (Astana) s.t.
  9. Danilo Hondo (Lampre) s.t.
  10. William Bonnet (Bouygues Telecom) s.t.
  11. Johnny Hoogerland (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  12. Stijn Vendenbergh (Katusha) s.t.
  13. Mathew Hayman (Sky) s.t.
  14. Llond Mondory (Ag2r) s.t.
  15. Matti Breschel (Saxo) s.t.
  16. Bernhard Eisel (HTC-Columbia) s.t.
  17. Steve Chainel (Bouygues Telecom) s.t.
  18. Frederic Guesdon (FDJ) s.t.
  19. Maarten Wynants (Quick Step) s.t.
  20. Marcus Burghardt (BMC) s.t.
  21. Roy Sentjens (Milram) s.t.
  22. Sebastian Langeveld (Rabobank) s.t.
  23. Marcel Sieberg (HTC-Columbia) s.t.
  24. Sylvain Chavanel (Quick Step) s.t.
  25. Stijn Devolder (Quick Step) s.t.
  26. Sebastien Hinault (Ag2r) s.t.
  27. Lance Armstrong (Radio Shack) s.t.
  28. Daniel Oss (Liquigas) s.t.
  29. Leif Hoste (Omega Pharma-Lotto) s.t.
  30. Simon Spilak (Lampre) s.t.
  31. Serguei Ivanov (Katusha) s.t.
  32. David Millar (Garmin-Transitions) s.t.
  33. Geraint Thomas (Sky) s.t.
  34. Juan Antonio Flecha (Sky) s.t.
  35. Alessandro Ballan (BMC) @ 2min 48sec
  36. Koen De Kort (Skil-Shimano) @ 5min 13sec
  37. Jose Joaquin Rojas (Caisse d'Epargne) s.t.
  38. Dimitri Muravyev (Radio Shack) s.t.
  39. Greg Van Avermaet (Omega Pharma-Lotto) st.
  40. Bert Scheirlinckx (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  41. Staf Scheirlinckx (Omega Pharma-Lotto) s.t.
  42. Dominique Rollin (Cervelo)
  43. Fabio Sabatini (Liquigas) s.t.
  44. Alexandre Pichot (Bouygues Telecom) s.t.
  45. Niki Terpstra (Milram) s.t.
  46. Gégory Rast (Radio Shack) s.t.
  47. Frederik Willems (Liquigas) s.t.
  48. Manuel Quinziato (Liquigas) s.t.
  49. Maarten Tjallingii (Rabobank) s.t.
  50. Mikhail Ignatiev (Katusha) s.t.
  51. Mathieu Ladagnous (FDJ) s.t.
  52. Carlos Barredo (Quic Step) s.t.
  53. Kurt Asle Arvesen (Sky) s.t.
  54. Karsten Kroon (BMC) s.t.
  55. Johan Vansummeren (Garmin-Transitions) s.t.
  56. Daniel Lloyd (Cervelo) s.t.
  57. Thor Hushovd s.t.
  58. Thomas Voeckler (Bouygues Telecom) @ 6min 58sec
  59. Koen Barbe (Landbouwkrediet) @ 10min 33sec
  60. Bobbie Traksel (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  61. Michael Schär (BMC) s.t.
  62. Sep Vanmarcke (Topsport Vlaanderen) s.t.
  63. Matteo Tosatto (Quick Step) @ 13min 20sec
  64. Mirko Selvaggi (Astana) s.t.
  65. Javier Aramendia (Euskaltel) s.t.
  66. Allan Davis (Astana) s.t.
  67. Andriy Grivko (Astana) s.t.
  68. Vicente Reynes (HTC-Colombia) s.t.
  69. Floris Goesinnen (Skil-Shimano) s.t.
  70. Marco Marcato (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  71. Mauro Da Dalto (Lamnpre) s.t.
  72. Frédéric Amorison (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  73. Tiziano Dall'Antonia (Liquigas) s.t.
  74. Lars Ytting Bak (HTC-Colombia) s.t.
  75. Hayden Roulston (HTC-Colombia) s.t.
  76. Yoann Offredo (FDJ) s.t.
  77. Lars Boom (Rabobank) s.t.
  78. Michael Barry (Sky) s.t.
  79. Sébastien Turgot (Bouygues Telecom) s.t.
  80. Kevin de Weert (Quick Step) s.t.
  81. Geoffroy Lequatre (Radio Shack) s.t.
  82. Tom Veelers (Skil-Shimano) s.t.
  83. Roy Curvers (Skil-Shimano) s.t.
  84. Ian Stannard (Sky) s.t.
  85. Gustav Larsson (Saxo) s.t.
  86. Joost Posthuma (Rabobank) s.t.
  87. Jurgen Roelandts (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  88. Nikolay Trusov (Katusha) s.t.
  89. Christopher Sutton (Sky) s.t.
  90. Martijn Maaskant (Garmin-Transitions) s.t.
  91. Matthew Harley Goss (HTC-Colombia) s.t.
  92. Kasper Klostergaard (Saxo) s.t.
  93. Lieuwe Westra (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  94. Frank Hoj (Saxo) s.t.
  95. Joost Van Leijen (Vacansoleil) s.t.


Lance Armstrong at the start

Lance Armstrong at the start.



Mark Cavendish

Mark Cavendish goes over the Patersberg

Staurt o'Grady

Stuart O'Grady

Cancellara on the Grammont

Fabian Cancellara soars alone on the Grammont

Boonen on the Grammont

Tom Boonen follows, trying to limit the damage

Gilbert with Leukemans

And hot on Boonen's tail is Philippe Gilbert and Bjorn Leukemans

Boonen finishes second

Tom Boonen finishes second.

Philippe Gilbert

Philippe Gilbert is third and fourth place Björn Leukemans can be seen further back.

Tyler Farrar

Tyler Farrar (second from right) takes the field sprint. That's George Hincapie on the far right.

2010 Ronde van Vlaanderen podium

2010 Ronde van Vlaanderen podium, from left: Tom Boonen, Fabian Cancellara and Philippe Gilbert

George Hincapie on the Koppenberg

George Hincapie leads the BMC team on a Tour of Flanders training ride. Here they ascend the Koppenberg.

2010 Flanders map

2010 Tour of Flanders Route map

2010 Tour of Flanders profile

2010 Tour of Flanders race profile